Getting Started: Using the Library for Research

This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.

JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.

Science, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.

America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

This is the comprehensive Anthropology index which combines the holdings of Anthropological Index and the Anthropological Literature databases. This database covers the anthropological literature (articles, reports, commentaries) from the 19th century to the present.

Criminal Justice Abstracts contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Criminal Justice Abstracts also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes both English and Spanish Language publications and you may search in Spanish or in English.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

GenderWatch is a full text database comprised of periodicals and other publications that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. CLIO Notes feature provides regional chronologies and discussion questions for each country. Advance searching allows limit by decade or century and CLIO Alert sends notice of new articles fitting a saved search.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Project Muse offers some 600 journal titles from 260 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840. The database includes international material selected from thousand of journals in 24 languages, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields. More than 9,900 journals on psychology and related fields are indexed and over 65,000 records added annually for a total of over 1.5 million records.

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1650 journals and other serials publications as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations. The database contains a total of 640,000 records. It is updated monthly and contains backfiles to 1963.

Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Full text access to ACM magazines, transactions, journals, SIG newsletters and conferences. Coverage 1950’s-present.

Biological Abstracts, is a collection of bibliographic references to the latest information in virtually every life science and biomedical disciplines, e.g., botany, microbiology, genetics, pharmacology, fishes, mammalogy, and soils. Indexes 4,300 journals. Coverage 1926- to present.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature] covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Journal articles, books and chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheet and research Instruments are indexed from over 4,900 journals, and full text for over 760 titles. Coverage 1937- present. Updated 8/14/14

Searchable database of full-text journals published by Emerald in a wide range of disciplines from business to engineering and more.

Engineering Village: Online format of Compendex, indexing engineering and physical science journals, patents, conferences and technical reports. Coverage 1970-present.

Environmental Index is a database of environmental article citations, dating back to 1973. Included are citations to journals focusing on the full range of environmental topics, including scientific, technical, law and policy, socioeconomic, and energy titles from around the world. 400 titles are currently indexed and the complete database searches approximately 2000 journal titles. From 1997 forward, author's abstracts are included for about 70% of the journals. Updated monthly.

PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Subsets to PubMed Central (full text) and PubMed Health (for consumers). Coverage 1946- to present. Access: all. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Updated 8/14/14

ScienceDirect is a full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823-present. Updated 8/14/14

Wiley Online Library is the online journals service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Subjects covered are business, computer science, education, engineering, law, life and physical sciences, math, and psychology. Sacramento State users have full-text access 30 titles and open access content only.