Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Includes the following journals in civil engineering: Australian Journal of Civil Engineering; Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering; Civil Engineering & Environmental Systems; Computer-Aided Civil & Infrastructure Engineering; ISRN Civil Engineering; Journal of Civil Engineering & Management; Journal of Cold Regions Engineering; Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering; Journal of Engineering Mechanics; Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering; Journal of Urban Planning & Development; Mathematical Modeling in Civil Engineering; Microcomputers in Civil Engineering
AIP Scitation
Index to articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and partners. Coverage 1930’s-present.
Emerald Fulltext (Emerald)
Emerald manages a portfolio of nearly 300 journals, more than 2,500 books and over 1,500 teaching cases.
Engineering Village (Ei)
Engineering Village: Online format of Compendex, indexing engineering and physical science journals, patents, conferences and technical reports. Coverage 1970-present.
IEEE XPlore
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Full text of all IEEE journals, transactions, standards and magazines, 1988 – present. IEEE-Wiley books 1974-2011. Indexing to IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) including IEE from 1872.
US Patent Full-text and Image Database
The Patent Full-text and Full-page Image Database is provided by the US Patent and Trademark Office. It allows full-text access to patents issued since 1976 and to full-page images since 1790.

Journals

Applied Energy
Provides a forum for information and ideas in the areas of energy conversion, conservation and the optimal management and use of energy and power resources. The journal publishes original papers, reports and reviews, and authors are encouraged to submit manuscripts which bridge the gaps between research, development and implementation.
Composite Structures
Disseminates knowledge between users, manufacturers, designers and researchers involved in structures or structural components manufactured using composite materials.
Energy and Buildings
International journal publishing articles with explicit links to energy use in buildings. The aim is to present new research results, and new proven practice aimed at reducing the energy needs of a building and improving indoor environment quality.
Mechanical Systems and Signal Processing
Discusses research findings related to applications utilizing these disciplines, while maintaining a healthy balance between fundamental and experimental topics.

Last Updated: Aug 8, 2025 11:48 AM