Ethnoecology, Ethnobotany & Medicinal Plants

General/Multidisciplinary

• Academic Search Complete (best place to start)

Anthropology

• JSTOR Anthropology
  Once you are in JSTOR, be sure to use the Journal Filter to narrow by disciplines: Anthropology box [94 titles] box. There may be other relevant disciplines to also choose (American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, Food Studies, etc.).
  A great database to search for older publications, because it often goes back to volume 1 of a journal. Beware however, it does not contain the most current  years (often 1-3) of any particular journal.

• Project MUSE
  The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts. Specifically the journals include the following subject categories: anthropology,  Folklore, Geography, History, Latin American Studies, Medicine and Health, Native American Studies, and Science.

• eHRAF World Cultures
  The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level

Botany/Biology

• AGRICOLA
  From the National Agriculture Library with a focus on agriculture and nutrition. Before you begin your search (but are in the database) be sure to switch tabs, so that you are searching in the "keyword search" tab and not the default "basic search" tab or your search will be not work.

• Biological Abstracts
  Coverage includes all aspects of biology: microbiology, pharmacology, botany, and biomedical research back to 1969.

• JSOTR Biological Sciences
  Once you are in the database be sure to check Narrow by Discipline: Biological Sciences [263 titles]. A great database to search for older publications, because it often goes back to volume 1 of a journal. Beware however, it does not contain the most current  years (often 1-3) of any particular journal.

• PubMed
  Use "Limit" to select the complementary medicine subset [sb] of the database. It was designed to facilitate searching for subjects in the area of complementary and alternative medicine. Example:  osteoarthritis AND cam[sb]

• ScienceDirect
  Predominately science, mostly technical, the database also has articles from the social sciences and humanities.

• Wiley Online
  Subject covered include life and physical sciences, math, as well as the social sciences. Coverge back to ~ 1996.

Chemistry

• SciFinder
  Provides access to the full Chemical Abstracts database with citations to the literature of chemistry and patents. Subjects include all areas of chemistry, biology, engineering, and medicine. Coverage: 1907-. Materials include books, journals, proceedings, dissertations, patents. Access: Saclink account holders only.

Medicine

• PubMed
  Liimit search to complementary medicine subset [sb] of the database. It was designed to facilitate searching for subjects in the area of complementary and alternative medicine. Example: osteoarthritis AND cam[sb]

Link to a list of all Databases by subject or database name (there is an A-Z list hiding above the subject list)

Many of the databases will only provide you with a citation. To retreive the full text of an article from within most databases, use the Find It @SacState link, which can usually be found at the end of a database record summary.

Use InterLibrary Loan to borrow articles and books that we don't have. It's fast (2-4 days), and free.