Research Guides: History: Ancient: Find Articles

Disciplinary Literature

Finding disciplinary or subject literature is available in databases and indexes. Coverage varies so one may need to search multiple databases. Some provide citations to scholarly and peer reviewed articles and abstracts (summaries of the material). Many databases provide the FINDIT feature that will link to the full text or to our catalog record for those in paper or microform formats. For those we don't own, it will link to Interlibrary Loan Services so that one can request the article from another library. Some databases also index books, reports and dissertations.

History Databases

L'Année philologique (Paper)
Available in paper from 1924-2002 in the Library at 2 NORTH Reference & 3 NORTH Tsakopoulos Collection under the call number PZ 7016 .A1 A5. Available electronically at the UC Davis Shields Library.

Année philologique
Most comprehensive index to the scholarship of Classical studies (Ancient Greece and Rome) across all subject areas.

Humanities index
Available in paper from 1974/75-1999 in the Library at 2 North Index Area under the call number AI 3 .R492 and the Lower Level. Available electronically at the UC Davis Shields Library.
Art and archaeology
Available in paper from 1914-1933 in the Library in the Lower Level Periodicals alphabetically by title.

Related Databases

Search other databases for relevant research. Some like JSTOR and Project Muse are limited in bredth and depth but provide full text for everything contained there.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

JSTOR
An electronic archive to specific scholarly journals (230 titles). It does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published. For history search history and other areas as appropriate for one's topic, e.g. african studies, african-american studies, asian studies, feminist and women studies, geography, and political science.
Project MUSE
ffers some 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts. Specifically the journals are divided into the following subject categories: African studies, American studies, Anthropology, Art, Asian Studies, Canadian Studies, Caribbean studies, Classics, Culture and Society, Economics, Education, Film, Theater,

UC Davis Databases & Indexes

The Shields Library has indexes that can be useful for researching ancient history.

BIAB online
Provides access to the entries in the British & Irish
archaeological bibliography database, compiled from the
following sources: British & Irish archaeological
bibliography (1997- ); Index of archaeological papers
(1665-1890); Archaeological bulletin for the British
Isles (1940-1946/1947); Archaeological bulletin for
Great Britain & Ireland (1948/1949); Archaeological
bibliography for Great Britain & Ireland

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2024 11:13 AM