University Library Digital Collections Program

The library's Digital Collections Committee (DCC) evaluates and prioritizes proposals for inclusion in the library’s digital collections.

The Digital Collections Program primarily supports discovery and access to resources held in the Donald & Beverly Gerth Special Collections & University Archives (SCUA). These materials, both physical and born-digital resources, include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, archival collections, and ephemera, which have historical or intellectual value for research, teaching, and scholarship.

Current digital collections can be viewed on the library's CONTENTdm hosted digital collections site.

Due to limited time and resources, the library must prioritize all requests to digitize physical collections, as well as to accept, manage, and make accessible born-digital collections.

For questions, contact the Digital Collections Committee.

The University Library commits that our digital content will be:

• Discoverable through rich, accurate metadata;  persistent URLs (“handles”); and, whenever possible, through search engines and aggregate sites;
• Compliant with copyright and intellectual property laws, i.e. be in the public domain or cleared for digital publication;
• Accessible, by striving to meet the compliance requirements of Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the accessibility standards developed by the Web Access Initiative of the World Wide Web Consortium.

Furthermore, resources digitized from University Library collections, including Special Collections & University Archives will be:

• Digitized to recognized standards set forth by the Library of Congress. Digital files will be created and/or maintained in sustainable file formats; digital files will be of a high quality (a faithful reproduction of the original if digitized) and functional (discoverable and accessible);
• Preserved for permanent access by following Level 2 standards or better of the NDSA Levels of Digital Preservation.