Deaf Studies & American Sign Language

ASL-LEX is a database of lexical and phonological properties that have been compiled for nearly 1,000 signs of American Sign Language.

ASL Signbank is a searchable database based on signs found in natural ASL productions. The search function works by gloss, or English representation of a sign and by possible translations.

A website with American Sign Language resources and extracurricular materials for language and culture enthusiasts, ASL students and learners, instructors and teachers, interpreters, parents and professionals for practice or self-study. Includes ASL dictionaries, fingerspelling charts, and learning tutorials. Created by an ASL instructor and native signer, Handspeak preserves authentic ASL, Deaf people, heritage, and culture.

Signing Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs used within the United States and Canada. Signing Savvy is an ideal resource to use while you learn American Sign Language. It includes the ability to view large sign videos, build your own word lists and share them with others, create virtual flash cards and quizzes, print signs, build sign phrases, and more.

An international dictionary that aims to make all sign languages of the world accessible. SpreadTheSign not only provides videos for signs in ASL but also many other of the world's sign languages. This dictionary can be useful for projects comparing the form for a particular item/concept in various languages.

Given the nature of the University's mission, the Gallaudet University Library Deaf Collections and Archives works diligently to build, maintain and organize the world's largest collection of materials related to the Deaf Community, as well as the home to Gallaudet University's institutional records and the records of the Gallaudet family. Included in the collection are artifacts, photographs, films, papers, periodicals, books, and other items. While maintaining a comprehensive collection, the importance of preserving the records of the global Deaf Community and collaborating with other repositories to ensure the longevity of items is essential.

The RIT/NTID DSA exists to ensure that the cultural heritage and lives of the NTID and connected Deaf communities are preserved so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives. The goal is to increase knowledge of the history and culture of NTID and connected Deaf community members and strengthen identity formation and pride.

This research guide has been designed to provide information about finding and using primary sources at Sacramento State.