Art Education

Grove Art Online provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links. Contains over 45,000 articles and over 40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Updates, new articles and new image links are added regularly.

Art Full Text™ covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. It is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995.

Art Index Retrospective™: 1929-1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, are indexed.

Artstor is database of millions of images with a suite of tools for teaching and research. Geared toward the visual arts, Artstor also has images from across the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
As of August 2024 all Artstor content has been moved to the JSTOR platform.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840. The database includes international material selected from thousand of journals in 24 languages, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields. More than 9,900 journals on psychology and related fields are indexed and over 65,000 records added annually for a total of over 1.5 million records.

This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.

Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad subject areas. Links to Sac State journals when Library Links under Scholar’s Settings are set to Sacramento State. Coverage varies.

JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.

Project Muse offers some 600 journal titles from 260 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.

The largest library catalog in the world, which includes holdings of most public and academic libraries in North America, and select libraries in other countries. Use WorldCat to discover the universe of titles on your subject beyond what the library owns, and then to request materials through resource sharing.

Contains over 600,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. Also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers

This database includes PDF images of full-text articles as well as full-page views of each issue of the New York Times providing researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Formerly ProQuest Newsstand, this database enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.