A list of guides and links to online style manuals for various subject areas.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2011
The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.
The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
- Chicago Manual of Style ref Z 253 .C57 2010
- Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian) ref LB 2369 .T8 2007
- MLA handbook for writers of research papers ref LB 2369 .G53 2009
- MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing ref PN 147 .G444 2008
- AP Associated Press stylebook and briefing on media law ref PN 4783 .A83 2005
- Chicago Style Guide
This guide is on how to cite sources, mainly books, articles and online resources.
- MLA Style Guide
Modern Language Association or MLA style is widely accepted in the humanities. This guide is based on the 3rd edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (PN 147 .G444 2008) and the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (LB 2369 .G53 2009).
- OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab - MLA
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab - Chicago
Information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.
These books and links will help you format government and legal citations. Most other styles will defer to these examples and make reference to the following titles.
- Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation ref KF 245 U55 2005
- Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources: a Manual for Writers and Librarians
ref Z 7164 G7 G37 1993
- Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA Style
The citations on this page are recommended examples. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed.
- Citing Records in the National Archives
Guidelines cover citations to textual records, microform records, nontextual archives (i.e., photographic records, posters, motion pictures, tape recordings, cartographic records, and architectural drawings), electronic records, and online references.
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format.
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Online cite authored by Peter W. Martin. The most recent edition of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 19th ed, was published in 2010. Another reference prepared by the Association of Legal Writing Directors, the ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation (4th ed. 2010) has won wide acceptance in law schools. This cite combines both sources.
Contact Leilani Hall with questions or comments about this Research Guide. This guide is based on the original Writing Guide by Debbie Rogenmoser. firstname.lastname@example.org or 916 278-6422
The Council of Science Editors - CSE - is the primary authority for biology and other natural sciences formatting style. Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields.
- Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers, 7th ed. ref T 11 S386 2006
- AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors ref R 119 .A533 2007
The American Chemical Society is the format and style authority for chemistry. However, each journal may ask for papers to have a different format.
Engineering societies often use the Chicago style but check each association for variations.
The American Mathematics Association has a style fo rtheir publications. However check for information for authors within the target journal of your interest.
- ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information
ref QD 8.5 .A25 2006
- Manual for authors of mathematical papers ref and 3North QA 42 .M36 1990
- Geological Society of America
GSA spells out the process for submitting manuscripts for publication. This link is to the style section. See other guidelines on the right.
- IEEE Style Guide
Editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters. For spelling reference, IEEE Publications uses Webster’s College Dictionary, 4th Edition. For guidance on grammar and usage not included in this manual, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style, published by the University of Chicago Press.
- ASCE American Society of Civil Engineers
Author's guide, with information about submitting an article, the review process, preparing a final manuscript, and general ASCE policies
- Computer science and Engineering
Communications of the ACM author guidelines.
- ASME Journals Guidelines and Information
Amreican Society for Mechanical Engineers guidelines for technical and non-technical article submission.
- American Mathematical Association Author Handbook
This guide is for authors preparing manuscripts for submission to AMA publications.
- Mathematical Association of America Author Resources
Check each journal for submission requirements.
The social sciencse usually follow the format of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
- Style guide / American Sociological Association ref HM 569 .A54 2007
- APA Publication manual of the American Psychological Association ref BF 76.7 P83 2010
- AAA Style Guide / American Anthropological Association
AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition, 2006). This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style. Where no rule is present on this list, follow Chicago.
- APA Style Guide
American Psychological Association or APA style is widely accepted in the Social Sciences.
- APA video
One minute video on APA citation format.
- OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab - APA
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.