This is the "Home" page of the "Voting / Elections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Voting / Elections  

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2016 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/elections Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

This guide will help you find information about elections and voting results.  Click the tabs above to find online and print resources.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations. Just email or call me.

Hong Wang

Library Room 2014
email: wanghong@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-6373

 

Presidential/Congressional Elections

Statistics of the presidential & congressional election (1920-2008)
        
(From the website of the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives)
   America votes  ref  JK 1967 .A8 (v. 1 1956-- )
   Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections ref JK 1967. c662 2001 (2 vols)
         (includes presidential primary returns 1912-2000, key convention ballots 1835-2000,
           popular vote for president 1824-2000, electoral votes for president 1789-2000,
           congressional elections, and gubernatorial elections.)
  
Atlas of United States presidential elections, 1932-1996  ref JK 1967 .M55 1997
   
America at the polls : a handbook of American presidential election statistics, 1920-1964
           
Reference JK 1967 .G6
 
 America at the polls 2 : a handbook of American presidential election statistics, 1968-1984

            Ref JK 524.S22 1988
   A statistical history of the American presidential elections  ref JK 1967 .P4 1963 (1789-1960)
   Source book of American presidential campaign and election statistics, 1948-1968
           
Ref JK 524 .R83
   United States Congressional elections, 1788-1994   ref JK 1967 .D77 1998
   State and national voting in Federal elections, 1910-1970  ref JK 1965 .C59
   The Election data book : a statistical portrait of voting in America. ref  JK 1967 .E4 1992

 

State and Gubernatorial elections

America votes  ref  JK 1967 .A8 (v. 1 1956-- )
State legislative elections : voting patterns and demographics   ref JK 1967 .B36 1998
      (includes maps)
Projections of the population of voting age for states 
     ref  2 NORTH Gov Docs GovtDoc C3. 186/26:
American governors and gubernatorial elections, 1775-1978  ref JK 2447 .G53
American governors and gubernatorial elections, 1979-1987  ref JK 2447 .M85 1988
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections ref JK 1967. c662 2001 ( vol. 2)

Ballot Measures Database includes all statewide ballot measures, starting over a century ago. Each entry contains ballot number, title, type of meaure (legislative referendum, initiative, popular referendum, and other), status (pass/fail), and summary.

 

Congress voting records

US Senate Roll Call Vote (1989--) (U.S. Senate)
Legislation & Votes (Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives)
US Congress Database (Washingtonpost.com) (1992--)
   
Directory of congressional voting scores and interest group ratings/ J. Michael Sharp   
    Ref JK 1051 .S555 1997   v.1   v.2

Congressional quarterly almanac  ref  JK 1001 .C6
The Almanac of American politics ref JK 271 .A44
CQ's politics in America  ref JK 1012 .P64
Congressional voting guide : a ten year compilation / compiled by Victor W. Bosnich
    ref 
JK 1051 .B67 1992 

 

California

The most updated information is available at the website of Secretary of State at 
               http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/
Primary and General Statewide Election Results  (back 1992)
                http://www.ss.ca.gov/elections/elections_elections.htm
California Elections Data Archive(CEDA) -- a statewide database of California local election results
       
Statement of vote. Primary election  Ref JK 8792 .A49  (1946--) (Voter registration statistics by
            Party,  by  county;  summary of votes on statewide measures, special elections results, etc.)
Supplement to Statement of vote. Primary election   Ref JK 8792 .A491 (1978-1982, 1986- )
Statement of vote. General election  Ref JK 8792 .A5  (1946, 1952--)  (Voter registration figures, 
      comparative  registration and vote figures, etc. and statement of the vote)
Supplement to statement of vote. General election  Ref JK 8792 .A51 ( 1962-1972, 1976- )
     (County by county vote results of  president, United States senator and statewide measures, 
     by congressional district,senatorial  districts, assembly districts and by board of equalization districts) 
Statement of vote : special election  Ref JK 8792 .A52 (1973, 1979, 2003, 2005)
California election calendar 
      
2 NORTH Calif Docs CA S400 .O5  (1996,2002)
      
2 North Reference (qualifications, nomination requirements, filing information, etc.)  
Certified list of candidates (including presidential electors), general election (1970-78, 1980, 1982, 1992)
      ref  JK 8792 .A48  More current online at Secretary of State 
Report of registration  JK 8791 .A5 (3 North, 1968--curent) (by party affiliation, by counties,
     subdivisions by county,  congressional districts, Senatorial districts, assembly districts and
     cities)  Also online at   Secretary of State
Certified list of candidates for the direct primary election  Ref JK 8795 .A5  (1980-2000)    
     More current online at Secretary of State 
Certified list [of] candidates for delegates and alternates to Party National Conventions 
     
Ref JK 8795.A514 
California votes, 1928-1960, a review and analysis of registration and voting  
     
Ref JK 8793 1963 .L4 (including counties)
California votes, 1960-1972; a review and analysis of registration and voting
    
Ref JK 8793 1974 .L43  (including counties)

 

Sacramento

Voter Registration and Elections
     
Contains most updated voting information, absentee, polling place information, campaign
      services, election information and voting systems.

Statement of the vote. ... Direct primary election Ref JS 451 .C29 S1245 ( 1982, 1986--)
Statement of the vote cast in the general election held ...  Ref JS 451 .C29 S1246 (1972, 1982--)
Statement of the vote. Consolidated districts election  Ref JS 451 .C29 S12462
              (1981, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1993)
Statement of the vote : special 5th congressional primary election March 8, 2005
             
Ref
JS 451 .C29 S124618 2005   
Statement of the vote cast in the special primary election, Fifth Assembly District, held July 23, 1991     
     Ref
JS 451 .C29 S124615 1991      
Statement of the vote cast at the special primary election, 1st Senate District, held March 19, 1991  
     Ref JS 451 .C29 S124613 1991  
Statement of the vote cast at the special general election, 5th Senate District, held January 8, 1991 
     Ref 
JS 451 .C29 S124616 1991
Statement of the vote cast at the special general election, 1st senate district, held May 14, 1991 
    
Ref JS 451 .C29 S124614 1991     
Statement of the vote cast at the City of Sacramento primary municipal election held ... 
    
Ref   JS 451 .C29 S12464 (1981, 1983,1985, 1987, 1989)       
Statement of the vote. Countywide election, County of Sacramento,  State of California,
     held Tuesday, November 6, 1973
 Ref  JS 451 .C29 S12463 1973     
 
Statement of the vote cast at the special run-off election, Fourth Supervisorial District,
     held July 1, 1986
 / [certified  by] Registrar of Voters, Sacramento County.  Ref  JS 451 .C29 S124617 1986     
Statement of the vote cast at the City of Folsom special election  held August 22, 1989
           / [certified by] Registrar of Voters of Sacramento County. Ref JS 451 .C29 S124628 1989      
Statement of the vote cast in the special election, Center Unified School and Roseville
     High School Districts 
 Ref  JS 451 .C29 S124655 1991    
  
Statement of the vote cast in the Center Unified School District  election held November 5, 1991 
    Ref JS 451 .C29 S1246551 1991     
Statement of the vote cast at the San Juan Unifed School District special election held March 7, 1989 
     Ref S 451 .C29 S124657 1989      
 
Statement of the vote cast at the Elk Grove Unified School District, Community Facilities
    District no. 1, held April 28, 1987 
 Ref   JS 451 .C29 S124656 1987     

 

Propositions / Initiatives

       California Ballot Propositions Database  in Hastings College of the Law library is a  comprehensive, searchable
source of information on California ballot propositions from 1911 to the present.  California Ballot Initiatives Database
(currently in Beta testing) contains California ballot initiatives from 1912 to the present. 

      
The CSUS library has a collection of ballot measures and propositions under "Pamphlet files--California Elections",
located on the second floor in the reference area. They are housed chronologically in the file cabinets against the wall
by the first row of reference shelves. 
     To find information, comments or opinions about the propositions of your interest,  you can search California
newspapers and some databases that may contain the resources. For newspapers, click here for California Newspapers.
     For databases,
CQ Library Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) , Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe, Proquest Newsstand, and Social Sciences Full Text are recommended.

Ballot Measures Database includes all statewide ballot measures, starting over a century ago. Each entry contains ballot number, title, type of meaure (legislative referendum, initiative, popular referendum, and other), status (pass/fail), and summary.

 

OneSearch/Catalog

     To conduct search by subject in the library catalog OneSearch, I recommend the
following Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).

  Elections -- United States                         Elections United States Statistic

 
Elections United States States                  Elections United States History
 
Elections -- California                                Voting California Statistics
  Voting -- California                                    Voting California Sacramento County
  United States. Congress -- Elections         United States. Congress -- voting
  Presidents Election           United States Congress Election Districts Statistics

 

Finding articles

The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many
of  which are full-text. They are available from the 
Library Homepage  by selecting Databases and 
Periodical Indexes.
These databases are accessible from library Network Stations and from campus
computer labs.
For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions at  Off-Campus Access Guide.    

Academic Search Premier              California Newspapers  

JSTOR (All Subjects)                        Social Sciences Full Text

LexisNexis Academic                       Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online

Proquest Newspapers                    CQ Electronic Library        

America: History and Life (EBSCO)     Historical Abstracts


 

References

  Elections A to Z  Ref JK 1976 .M57 1999
 The electoral politics dictionary ref JK 1971 .R46 1989
 The American dictionary of campaigns and elections ref JK 1971 .Y68 1987
 Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections ref JK 1967. c662 2001 (2 vols)
 
American presidential campaigns and elections ref JK 1965 .A57 2003 (3 vol.)
 
The presidential vote, 1896-1932  JK 1967 .R6  (3 NORTH )
      (An important source for interpretation of data. )
 Historical review of presidential candidates from 1788 to 1968  ref JK 524 .C65 1969

 American national election studies data sourcebook, 1952-1978  ref  JK 1967 .M54
       (A record of many of the attributes of national electoral behavior, such as social characteristics
       of the electorate, partisanship, positions on public policy issues, etc.)
 
The Documentary history of the first Federal elections, 1788-1790    3 north JK 171 .A1 D6 (3 vols.)

Contact Librarian

Hong Wang
Contact Info
Library Room 2014
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819

Phone: 916-278-6373
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip