This is the "When You Have a Citation [and are not in a database]" page of the "Locating Articles: Online (full-text) or Print " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Locating Articles: Online (full-text) or Print   Tags: articles, finding full-text, full_text, how_to, locating articles, online articles  

Explains the steps to find an article online (full text) or in print when you are in a database, or have a citation.
Last Updated: Aug 2, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/findfulltext Print Guide RSS Updates

When You Have a Citation [and are not in a database] Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

2) When You Have a Citation [and are not in a database]

You should already have a citation[here is an example]

1. Use the Journal Titles A-Z search to determine if we have the journal you need online:

2. Type in the name of the journal and then select it by clicking on it's name.

3. Select a full text option, but be careful that the full text contains the year you need:

4. The link will do one of the following:

  • Open the article
  • Open an abstract of the article [from which you will need to look for the PDF or html of the complete article] click here for example
  • Display a table of contents for a journal

NOTE: This example is from an EBSCO Database....not all records will have this format. If yours seems different, just remember to look for a link to the PDF, HTML or the Find It.  If there is no Find It link, use the instructions above for Finding Full Text when you Have a Citation.

5. If the journal title does not display, you can look for a print version by searching OneSearch for the title of the journal. Type the name of your journal (not article) in quotes.

  • We are having technical issues resulting in what we own not being clearly labelled.  So always look for a statement like the one below  [Paper: v. 1(1950-v.45(1994)....] 
    • The word PAPER may not be in the line, just volumes and dates
    • This statement is the only indication of what we actually own.

NOTE: Journals in print from 1980- date can be found on 3 South.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
University Library
Room 3027
dmetzger@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-7509

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip