General ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopediasBibliographies/Indexes
This is the "Books" page of the "Byzantine Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Byzantine Studies   Tags: byzantine, byzantium, greece, greek, hellenic, hellenism, studies  

Guide to interdisciplinary research in Byzantine studies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/byzantinestudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hint:

When searching for a Greek title in OneSearch or WorldCat, you will need to follow the Library of Congress' transliteration system to retrieve accurate results.

How to...

Library info

 

OneSearch Book Search

In most areas of the social sciences and humanities, books are still the key medium for disseminating information. Whether monographs, edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, or other types of works, books treat subject matter in a detailed, scholarly way. The documentation found in books in the form of footnotes and bibliographies is also an excellent tool for amassing other source material for research.

Using OneSearch to Find Books

Subject Searching

This library, along with most academic libraries, classifies books and other materials using the Library of Congress Classification system. With materials classified by subject, books on similar subjects will be found together, which makes browsing a useful way to discover new material in OneSearch or on the shelves.

Subject searching in OneSearch helps retrieve results most efficiently and with greatest precision, but it takes some practice to become acquainted with the process. Without knowing the subject heading(s) for a given topic, keyword searching can often be used to find relevant materials, and then search further by subject using the assigned headings of the items found. See the list below for some useful subject headings related to Modern Greek Studies.

Subject browsing in OneSearch gives you structured results that are easy to navigate, making it possible to get a picture of the library's holdings on a topic within just a few screens. To browse by subject, go to the advanced search screen and click the ... at the top of the screen (indicated in the screenshot above with the red arrow) for more options, where you'll see "browse." Then try browsing by one of the subjects below.

Tip: Many books and other items have multiple subject headings assigned to them. Within a record, try clicking on one of the other subject headings to do a search on that subject to find additional materials.

Some useful subject headings relating to Byzantine studies (in call number order):

  • Orthodox Eastern Church
    Call number range: BX 200-756.
  • Byzantine Empire
    Basic subject heading for a wide range of subjects on the Byzantine Empire.
    Call number range: DF 501-700.
  • Art, Byzantine
    Call numbers can range between N-NX, depending on medium. Two specific call numbers for Byzantine art are N6250 and N7852.5 for religious art.
  • Greek Language, Medieval and Late
    The subject heading "Greek Language, Medieval and Late" is used instead of "Greek Language, Byzantine." Call number range: PA 1000-1179.
  • Byzantine Literature
    Call number range: PA 5000-5198.
  • For an Individual, Use the Format: Last name, First name.
    Remember also to try the name as an author.

Other Useful Catalogs

Use these catalogs to find books on your topic beyond the library's holdings.
Note: Searching Greek on-line catalogs will require inputting Greek characters in your search. See the "How to..." guide on changing your keyboard language to the left for details.

  • MELVYL
    Catalog of the combined holdings of all University of California libraries. Sometimes it's faster to obtain an item held by a nearby UC library than to request it through interlibrary loan.
  • WorldCat
    The largest on-line catalog in the world, representing the holdings of most public and academic libraries in North America, and select libraries in other countries. Use WorldCat to discover the universe of titles on your subject beyond what the library owns, and then to request materials through interlibrary loan.
  • Dēmosio Katalogo tēs Ethnikēs Vivliothēkēs tēs Hellados
    The on-line catalog of the National Library of Greece.
  • Vivliothēkē tēs Voulēs tōn Hellēnōn
    On-line catalog of the library of the Hellenic Parliament. Also searchable from this interface is the Parliament's digital library (see check box on right). Tab at the top links to the Parliament's microfilm catalog in PDF format viewable as separate alphabetical, chronological, and topical lists.
  • Benaki Museum Library
    Three databases available: Main Catalog; Historical Archives; and Lorentzatos Collection.
  • AMBROSIA
    Combined catalogs of the Blegen and Gennadius Libraries of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and the Libraries of the British School at Athens.
  • Hē Argō: Perivallon Provasēs Pēgōn Plērophorēsēs
    Gateway to a suite of Greek union catalogs and databases searchable individually or in a federated environment. Interface available in English or Greek via the National Documentation Center (EKT).
  • Zephyros
    Similar to the Argō portal but with several more institutions represented, including the University of Cyprus, and a periodicals database. Interface in Greek and English via the University of Crete includes a useful browsing function.
  • BiblioNet: Greek Books in Print
    Current, authoritative database of over 144,000 Greek books in print.
 

Google Books



Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

Profile Image
George I. Paganelis
Contact Info
University Library, #3025 & #1511
California State University, Sacramento
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
Phone: (916) 278-4361
Fax: (916) 278-5917
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip