Skip to main content

Finding Books at the University Library

Need a book? Don't know where to find it? Use this guide to locate physical and electronic books at the Sac State Library.

Anne Bradley

Anne Bradley's picture
Anne Bradley
Contact:
Office: Library 2504
Phone: 916-278-4350

Tips on Using Books

Libraries are traditionally known for their book collections. Books are not going away anytime soon, but the format and methods of accessing them are changing.

Tips:

Do not be afraid to use books! A 400-page text might seem daunting, but, unless specifically stated in your assignment, it is not always necessary to read a book in its entirety for your research. Books cover broad areas, and a single chapter or section may provide sufficient information. 

eBooks: the Sac State library subscribes to a number of ebook-specific databases and databases that offer ebooks in addition to other content. By default, eBooks are searched alongside physical books in OneSearch; you will see a direct link to the book in its listing. 

Physical books: In order to make space for new technology and work spaces, many academic libraries are removing rarely used items from their physical collections. This means that the item you are looking for may only be available through another library. Please see tab in this guide on borrowing a book from another library for more information.

Library Collections

There are books in numerous collections and locations in the library. 

Collection Contents Organization System Location
Circulating Books

General fiction and non-fiction books

We focus on having books on topics relating to subjects and fields of study taught at Sac State.

Library of Congress

A - H: Second Floor

J - PR 1199: Third Floor

PR 1200 - Z: Fourth Floor

Course Reserves Course materials and textbooks that Sac State instructors have asked the library to hold. Depends on type of item First Floor service desk
Curriculum Collection Guides, textbooks, and non-print. Ascension number by subject Second Floor
Government Documents California, local, federal, Canada, and United Nations Su Docs Second Floor
Juvenile Collection Picture books, juvenile fiction and non-fiction Dewey Decimal System Second Floor
Maps & Atlas Collection Maps and atlases Library of Congress Second Floor
Quartos & Folios Oversized circulating books Library of Congress Second Floor
Reference Collection Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, bibliographies, directories, indexes, almanacs, statistical works. Library of Congress Second Floor
Special Collections & University Archives Main collections: Japanese American Archival Collection, the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection, the Mexican American community in the Sacramento region. Depends on type of item First Floor (separate entrance)
Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection Modern and classical Greek circulating book collection, journal holdings, electronic resources, non-print media, rare books, archival materials, art, and artifacts. Depends on type of item Third Floor and First Floor in SCUA

Guide Credit

This guide was created by Sarah Davis
Spring 2018