Research Guides: Biochemistry: Article Databases

Article indexes

SciFinder (Web edition, CAS)
Chemical Abstracts online. Indexes all chemical information in journals, patents, reports, conferences, dissertations, etc. Links to Sac State electronic subscriptions. Available only to those with a current SacLink account. Coverage 1907-present.
PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Subsets to PubMed Central (full text) and PubMed Health (for consumers). Coverage 1946- to present. Access: all. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Updated 8/14/14
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts, is a collection of bibliographic references to the latest information in virtually every life science and biomedical disciplines, e.g., botany, microbiology, genetics, pharmacology, fishes, mammalogy, and soils. Indexes 4,300 journals. Coverage: 1926-current.
AGRICOLA Articles (National Agricultural Library, USDA)
Provides bibliographic information [many links to full text] for agriculture, agronomy, animal science, crop management, forestry, natural resources, nutrition, pesticides, soils, water, fertilizers botany, farming, etc. Coverage: some works from the 15th century to present. Updated 8/15/14
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Science, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.

PubMed User Guide
Updated FAQs to the New PubMed
Deep Blus
Deep Blue is the University of Michigan's digital repository and provides access to the scholarly and artistic work done by the university's researchers. The National Science Foundation ranks the University of Michigan as the #1 Public Research University in the US making this free resource a great addition to your search strategy.
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) offers access to the CSD a free service to view and retrieve over one million crystal structures. The database is useful for Crystallography, Structure-based drug design, Medicinal chemistry, Pharmaceutical formulation and development, Material science, and Education.
SDBS Compounds and Spectral Search
Free database of chemical spectra. IR, MS, NMR spectra. Organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.

Chemical Abstracts Journals and Abbreviations

CASSI - Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index: Quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2024 11:14 AM