Research Guides: Health Care: Statistics on Health, Injury, Medical Assistance & Insurance, Health Personnel: Databases and Journal Literature

Search these Databases for articles

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on Community and Publc Health. See the Databases & Article Searching page Health and Medical Science for more database options.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
'...statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. The database includes 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets) and is both searchable and browsable.'
State Statistics
Contains time series data for social, business, economic, health, education, environmental and government measures for all 50 states and additional measures specific to California. Data may be available annually, quarterly or monthly for the US, individual states, counties, cities and zip codes.
Statista
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics - consumer goods, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest - and provides exportable data and facts from a wide range of sources.
PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
...covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
... all-subject database includes articles from 1975 to present.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
'...summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840...'
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
... includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, minority studies, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more...'
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Includes scholarly business articles in virtually every business discipline e.g. accounting, finance, management, marketing, MIS, and beyond. Also trade news and industry research reports, country reports, and company SWOT analyses are available.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers. Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explaination above). Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

Click here for help using Google Scholar.

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:44 PM