Market Size - ENTR 187 - Entrepreneurship - Research Guides at California State University Sacramento

Welcome

This guide will help you find resources for doing market research for your business plan. Click the tabs to find additional online and print resources.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or Zoom with me!

Anne Bradley
bradleya@csus.edu
916-278-4350
Online appointment calendar

Market Research Reports

Use these resources to determine the market size, major players, etc. of a particular product or industry.

IBISWorld
Includes 700 Industry Market Research reports, hundreds of Specialized Industries reports, and several dozen California-specific reports. Each report is 20-30 pages and include industry-wide ratios.
Statista
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics - consumer goods, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest - and provides exportable data and facts from a wide range of sources.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Type search in box then scroll down to Document Type and click box next to Market Research. This will limit search to market research reports.

Industry Profiles from Business Source Complete
Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends. Click "Industry" tab to get started.
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
SBDC Small Business Snapshots
Very selective coverage, but for the businesses covered information includes industry trends, market statistics, customer demographics, recent business articles, and links to industry trade associations.
O*Net
Offers occupational information and labor market research including information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions.

Industry Financial Ratios

IBISWorld
US Industry Reports (NAICS) and Specialized reports provide downloadable industry-wide ratios in the "Financial Benchmarks" section.

Damodaran Online
Data collection put together by a professor of finance at New York University. Start by clicking Data in top menu, then Current Data. Scroll down to Multiples to get industry ratios.

Ratio sourcebooks contain historic financial and operating ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers. They are used when comparing a company's ratios to the industry standard. These are all available in print at 2 North Reference.

Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
RMA Annual Statement Studies Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68
IRS Corporate Financial Ratios Ref HG 5681 B2 I7

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2024 1:54 PM