Government Information: Trump Administration Changes

Current awareness of U.S. government information that provides newly released government information & web pages & news stories

Volunteers report changes to government information

Captures & saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020, and 2024. We have closed the EOT seed nomination form for the 2024 harvest.

Advocates on behalf of current & future users of public information. Developing a community of practice to preserve & provide access to electronic government information is a large endeavor that will take many hands. Seek to build capacity for libraries to preserve historically significant born-digital government information.

A coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, & members of the Data Curation Network. Goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts & data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation & cleaning, data cataloging, & providing sustained access & distribution of data assets.

A collaborative tool built to catalog existing public data rescue efforts in order to better coordinate initiatives. The tool is to help reduce duplication of rescue efforts. It aims to provide a consolidated overview of who is backing up which dataset from which government websites.

A data vault project to preserve and authenticate vital public datasets for academic research, policymaking, & public use. Project on their long-standing commitment to preserving government records & making public information available to everyone. Libraries play an essential role in safeguarding the integrity of digital information. By preserving detailed metadata & establishing digital signatures for authenticity and provenance, we make it easier for researchers & the public to cite and access the information they need over time

Provides 19 resources:
Carbon Dioxide Removal Law Database
CLCPA Scoping Plan Tracker
Climate Attribution Database
Climate Backtracker
Climate Regulation Database
Climate Change Laws of the World
Climate Change Litigation Databases
Climate Litigation Newsletter
Litigation Updates
Global Network of Peer Reviewers on Climate Litigation
Community Benefits Agreements Database
Electric Resilience Toolkit, Impacts of Solar, Wind, and EVs
Inflation Reduction Act Tracker, Smart Surfaces Policy Tracker
Model Laws for Deep Decarbonization in the United States
New York City Climate Law Tracker
New York State Climate Law Tracker
Silencing Science Tracker
Archived Materials

Public Environmental Data Partners, a project launched by the Environmental Data Governance Initiative (EDGI), has been collecting & preserving hard-to-crawl environmental data

Catalog of Trump administration secrecy news tracker.

The administration has:
Deleted thousands of datasets from agency websites
Closed agencies’ Freedom of Information Act offices
Used disappearing messaging apps and failed to preserve government records
Ordered federal health agencies to stop communicating with the public
Gutted a key surveillance oversight board
Mass-fired inspectors general
Replaced independent, professional leadership at the National Archives with unqualified appointees
Attempted to illegally destroy agency records

Tracks impact of government policies, regulations, etc. on government research. List of Executive Orders & their impact. Empower U.S. academic research ecosystem by advancing sound federal policies & regulations that are vital to U.S. science & innovation leadership & the nation’s health, security, & prosperity.

Summary of Executive Orders.

Just Security, an editorially independent, non-partisan, daily digital law & policy journal, elevates national security discourse, democracy & the rule of law, & rights. It publishes rigorous, expert analysis & informational resources on important issues. Its goals are to inform & empower decision-makers with high-quality analysis, foster informed dialogue on challenging issues, & remain accessible to our global audience. It is at the Reiss Center on Law & Security at New York University School of Law.

In-depth analysis of selected court decisions.

Tracks legal challenges to the Trump administration’s executive actions that deal with national security issues, as well as cases on behalf of the Trump administration to enforce them. One can sort the table by clicking the column titles & query keywords using the search box in the top left of the table. The table has the case name, what executive action is being challenged, the status of the case, & a summary of the litigation being brought.

The Table tracks the ongoing litigation challenging deportations under President Trump's invocation of the Alien Enemies Act.

Tracks the termination of grants of scientific research agencies under the Trump administration in 2025. Currently tracking terminations of grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) & the National Science Foundation (NSF). They collect terminated NIH and NSF grants from submissions from affected researchers as well as government websites & databases.

Tracking Anticipated Deaths from USAID Funding Cuts. Brooke Nichols launched online tracking tools that capture estimated increases in mortality & disease spread for HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, & other diseases as a result of the near-total freeze in US foreign aid funding and programming.

NEH Grants 2025 tracks terminated grants

Collects, synthesizes, & visualizes timely data on federal changes &their localized effects. It is currently in beta & will continue evolving. Impact Project provides objective, transparent, & open-source data to help explain how federal policies, funding, & workforce changes affect communities. The Impact Map, shows the local impact of federal decisions. Given the limited availability of reliable data, The Impact Map will evolve as new data becomes available.

Some DOGE have been public about their involvement, others have attempted to keep their roles secret, scrubbing LinkedIn pages & other sources of data. With little information from the White House, ProPublica is attempting to document who is involved & what they are doing.

Lists various groups involved in data preservation