ETHN 70-12: Introduction to Pan African Studies (Prof. Jasmine Wade, Fall 2024)

This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.

This is the comprehensive Anthropology index which combines the holdings of Anthropological Index and the Anthropological Literature databases. This database covers the anthropological literature (articles, reports, commentaries) from the 19th century to the present.

Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic, and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.

This full-text database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes both English and Spanish Language publications and you may search in Spanish or in English.

GenderWatch is a full text database comprised of periodicals and other publications that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.

Project Muse offers some 600 journal titles from 260 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.

Chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.

Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1650 journals and other serials publications as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations. The database contains a total of 640,000 records. It is updated monthly and contains backfiles to 1963.

This is a collection of digitized primary sources that document women's activism in United States public life. The collection includes books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, publications of state and local commissions on women, ephemera, as well as teaching tools.