Research Guides: Health Policy Analysis: Databases and journals

Scholarly databases

PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Subsets to PubMed Central (full text) and PubMed Health (for consumers). Coverage 1946- to present. Access: all. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal research database that contains case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, and legal forms. Also includes newspaper and magazine articles as well as businesses search.

LegInfo (1999-present)
California Legislature's database for bills introduced from 1999 onward. Search by keyword, code or bill number. Access bill analyses and gain historical context of bills and laws.
LegInfo (1993-2016)
The California Legislature's old database that has bill and law information that was passed prior to 1999.
NCSL 50-State Searchable Bill Tracking Databases
Access legislation by state on a particular topic identified and tracked by National Conference of State Legislators staff.
Congress.gov legislation search
Research federal laws from 1799 to the present.
APHA Policy Statement Database
APHA Policy Statements beginning in 1948 to the present are available in this Policy Statement Database. You can search the database by year, policy number or keyword.

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
JAMA's mission is to promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health.
JAMA Network Open
JAMA Network Open is an open access general medical journal that publishes research on clinical care, innovation in health care, health policy, and global health across all health disciplines and countries for clinicians, investigators, and policy makers.
Health Affairs
Health Affairs explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Its mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access.
BMJ Open
An open access journal dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.
American Journal of Public Health (AJPH)
The mission of AJPH is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education.
Health Policy
Health Policy aims to inform discussions about how to improve health policies by publishing high quality research articles with clear policy implications that are relevant for an international audience.
Health Policy and Planning
Health Policy and Planning publishes health policy and systems research focusing on low- and middle-income countries.

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2025 12:27 PM