Primary Source Collections

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."

JSTOR created a place for free primary sources collections.

Comprises correspondence, studies & reports, cables, maps, & other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government & the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.

Comprises correspondence, studies & reports, cables, maps, & other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government & the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement & the industrialization & economic exploitation of Portugal's African colonies.

Comprises correspondence, studies & reports, cables, maps, & other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments & later the Japanese mandate authorities, & the activities of the native peoples.

Details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War, 1830-1865, It presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves.

Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

This database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections & definitions are expanded to cover more & more Americans.

Hundreds of titles that analyze the controversial topic of gun regulation in America, including periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS reports, Supreme Court briefs, & more.

The WRA) was a government agency rounded up Japanese Americans, incarcerating them into camps, determining their loyalty or disloyalty to the United States, & resettling them into U.S. society. The records provide a portrait of incarceration camp management, the failings of the segregation process, & the mindset of Japanese American incarcerated in the camps. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports & correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, & family welfare.

A collection of books, periodicals, & archival materials documenting LGBT political, social & cultural movements throughout the 20th century to the present. It illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, & bisexual individuals & the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld & Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute,

A collection of materials relating to the gay rights movement in America, including an interactive timeline, as well as subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, & more.

Porvides more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. It integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, & audio files. It is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. It is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, & Canadian First Peoples

Consists of the letters received by & letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents & agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial & State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty & other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, & persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, & other public & private individuals. Attachments include vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts & financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, newspapers, copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, &instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, & other officials.

Established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission & values through strategic human rights litigation & other legal work. The Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal & policy submissions, & fact sheets exploring & advocating on issues of human rights & justice.

Federal Bureau of Investigation & the House Committee on Un-American Activities (later called the House Un-American Activities Committee, or HUAC) developed a working relationship in the period 1938 through 1975 that increased the authority of the committee & gave the bureau power to investigate suspected communists. The archive is divided into three parts. The first part, 1938-1945, documents clashes between HUAC chairman Martin dies & the administrations of Franklin D. Roosevelt & Harry Truman. The second section, 1946-1949, records the process by which the FBI & HUAC chose their targets. Final section follows HUAC, renamed the Internal Security Committee, in its attempt to protect the FBI from other congressional investigative committees.

Comprises the FOIA files related to a variety of subjects under FBI surveillance due to their alleged Communist or "fellow traveler" activities. It does not include the files related to the Hollywood Ten.

Organized around women's history of U.S. social movements between 1600 & 2000, the collection advances scholarly debates & understanding about U.S. women’s history generally & at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. It includes 124 document projects & archives with more than 5,100 documents &175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, & website reviews, notes from the archives, & teaching tools.