Openverse searches images and audio from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. All content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain. Includes features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.
Artstor is database of millions of images with a suite of tools for teaching and research. Geared toward the visual arts, Artstor also has images from across the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Provides 100+ million searchable images for use. The images are conveniently divided into collections based on their copyright license policies in easy to understand terms.
Comprehensive listing of academic publications (books, book chapters, and journal articles) on Japanese animation, comics, and related topics that were published in English. Find publications sorted by year, special topic, and director/creator.
The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America.
Includes artists’ sketchbooks, drawings and watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks, and early photographs of the Middle East and Asia.
Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums.
Digitizations of historical photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, books, music scores, maps and other rare and unique materials. The vast majority of these collections are freely available online for public access.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Search digital images of materials within the collections, with the option to limit to public domain images only. Highlighted collections feature contemporary jewelry, Latin American contemporary art, 20th century fashion, gods and goddesses, SoCal design, Spanish colonial art, and coffee, tea, and chocolate.
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. Images are available free of charge for download and use.
Consortium of European and North American art historical photo archives committed to creating a digital research platform providing access to photo archive images and associated scholarly documentation.
With a collecting history that extends back to the 1750s, this collection contains more than 97,000 works in all media, range from ancient to contemporary and span the globe.
Primary source materials—original letters, writings, preliminary sketches, scrapbooks, photographs, financial records and the like—that have significant research value for the study of art in America.
