Finding music scores in the library
There are multiple approaches to finding music scores in our library. Below are two recommended approaches for searching EUREKA: Library Catalog:
- Use an author or title search and apply EUREKA's limit feature. Think of the composer as the author.
- Use the keyword search function. This allows you to enter selected terms and conditions in a single step.
Author or Title Search: For example, searching for a score of Brahms German Requiem, one can search for "Brahms, Johannes" as an author (drop down menu). This search yields over 640 items including books, scores, videos, audios, CDs and even theses to sort through. Instead, click on "Limit/Sort Search." Now you can limit by location, material type, language, year of publication, words, etc. In this example a logical approach is to limit the "material type" to "score" and limit the "words in the title" to "German" or "Requiem" (or both). This search will lead directly to the 5 scores that are shelved on the 3rd floor. For a title search simply type in "German Requiem." This search will yield 8 items. No need to limit further --- just scroll down to locate the scores. Another option is to use the "Advanced Keyword Search." Using the drop down menu, type in "Brahms" as an author. In the next line enter "German Requiem." Select "Music Score" as the "Material Type" and click on "Submit." The 5 scores will come up from this one search.
Keyword Search: For most composers, Opus (Op.) is used as a chronological catalogue of their compositions, e.g., Beethoven Op. 111 is one of his later piano sonatas. Brahms Op. 111 is a String Quintet. For Mozart, the Köchel-Verzeichnis (KV) is a complete, chronological catalogue of his compositions, e.g., K. 488 is the A Major Piano Concerto. For Bach, BWV is the numbering system (Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis), e.g., BWV 565 is the Tocatta and Fugue iin D Minor. One potential approach to search for specific pieces is to do a keyword search by searching the composer's name with the specific number of the piece. For example, seaching our catalog by keyword "mozart 488" yields 19 relevant hits (his A major piano concerto). You can then limit the search to scores or scroll through the 19 items. Searching "Bach 565" yields 14 items for the Tocatta and Fugue. Searching "Bach tocatta d minor" yields 28 scores, CDs, etc. Searching "Op. 111" yields 28 hits mixing up Beethoven, Prokofiev, Brahms, Mendelssohn and other composers who all have Opus 111 pieces. Seaching "Beethoven 111" yields 10 hits --- some scores, CDs, DVDs, etc. You get the idea. Many search options! The more you search, the more refined and effective your approach should become. Also consult "search options" on EUREKA for additional help with keyword, title, author, subject and other searching. It all applies to searches for music scores.
Other search hints:
- If you include the key in your search, do not use music symbols. Instead use the words "flat" of "sharp," e.g., "Brahms concerto b flat."
- Use truncation (expanding on the root of the word) as logical, e.g., concert* would yield concerto, concerti, etc.
- To find scores owned by other libraries, try the database WorldCat which indexes libraries worldwide. Many libraries lend scores. You can use our Interlibrary Resource Sharing (located under "User Services" on the Library website) to make the request online.
- You may want to search any alternative non-English titles if you know them or look them up.
- You may try searching names that have been attached to specific pieces (if you know them) such as e.g., Mozart's "Haffner" Symphony or Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony.
- Generally searching by the composer as the author and pairing it with relevant numbers and/or words is the best initial path to success.
Detective work: Sometimes a search in EUREKA for music scores may yield no results or not the result that you were pursuing. This may happen when we own a set of the complete works of a composer but details about the contents are not noted in EUREKA, i.e., they are not individually cataloged. For example, let's say you wanted to examine a score of Mozart's opera Mitridate Re di Porito KV 87. A EUREKA search only yields a miniature score but you desire something more substantial. Check The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (Call No.: Ref. ML 100 .N48 2001). Towards the end of each entry about a composer, typically prior to the bibliography, is a list of all of the composer's works. For Mozart, the 1st column of this list notes the Kochel-Verzeichnis number. The 6th and 7th columns provide information about the volume, section and page of the location within various sets of the complete works. We own one of these sets, i.e., Neue Ausgabe Samtlisher Werke (NMA) --- Call No.: M3 M9396..... can't miss it when you look in the 3rd floor stacks. According to the chart, a larger score of the above opera is in Series 2, werkgruppe 5, band 4. (This will make sense to you when you look at the information on the spine of the volumes). Another example is a search for the Mozart Canon (or Kanon) "caro bell" idol mio (KV 562). A search for "Mozart 562" yields a CD and a potential book that treats this piece. No score. But a search in the chart in "The New Grove Dictionary..." tells us that Series 3, werkgruppe 10, p. 65 of Mozart's Neue Augabe Samtlisher Werke contains the desired score.
Note: There may be other finding aids that will help one find the location of specific works within the large sets of specific composers' works such as Call No.: Ref. ML113 .H52 1980 (Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: A Guides to their Contents). Check EUREKA for others.
Finding music scores and sheet music via the internet: selected free sites
Please note copyright stipulations, legal considerations, conditions of use, etc. for all of these websites. One good place to start is a wonderful Duke Libraries Sheet Music Collections (http://library.duke.edu/music/sheetmusic/collections.html).
- 8notes.comFree sheet music, riffs, lessons and tools for musicians who play.
- Acadia Early Music ArchiveScores from over 40 computers such as John Blow, Francesco Cavalli, George Frideric Handel, Robert Johnson, Henry Lawes, Biagio Marini, Henry Purcell, Thomas Ravenscroft, Alessandro Scarlatti, etc.
- Art Song CentralArt Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.
- Beethoven-Haus Bonn Digital ArchivesContains the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus: Music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures. "Beethoven's thinking, life and work become tangible and can be experienced in a visual and audible way." Click on "digital archives."
- Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities: Stanford University"Where new technology and traditional scholarship meet," this Stanford Center is engaged in the development of large databases of musical and textural materials for applications in research, teaching, and perfromance.
- ChoralWikiHome of the Choral Public Domain Library --- a place to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
- Classical Sheet MusicEmphasis is on complete piano ablums with a focus on easy or intermediate playing level. (They started out as a website for advanced piano solo scores but changed to accommodate visitor preferences.)
- Danish National Sheet Music ArchiveDigitized scores and sheet music put out by The Royal Library.
- Digital Image Archives of Medieval MusicPortal to worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts dating from approximately 800 to 1550. Original documents are kept in libraries and archives around the world.
- Digital Mozart EditionCurrently being developed at the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg in cooperation with Packard Humanities Institute in Los Altos, CA. Provides world-wide access to the complete works of Mozart in digital form for study and performance. Also includes letters, documents and libretti. Link to scores is in the "realization" section.
- Duke Libraries Sheet Music CollectionsWonderful contribution providing links to collections of over 70 libraries working towards the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative: Protocol for Metadata Harvesting. Mostly university and public library collections. Many hundreds of thousands of pieces of music! Please occasionally come up for air!
- free-scores.com: The sheet music world centerProject is to distribute for free the most important choice of free scores from public domain and from original composers with restricted licences --- as of this writing it includes 19,789 pieces of music to download in PDF format.
- freesheetmusic.netIncludes links to many free sheet music sites.
- IMSLP/Petrucci Music LibraryInternational Music Score Library Project. The free public domain sheet music library. Goal is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music without charge.
- IN Harmony: Sheet Music from IndianaA search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana University State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Indiana-related sheet music.
- Juilliard Manuscript CollectionExtraordinary collections of 138 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engraver proofs, and first editions, which were donated to Juilliard in Feb. 2006 by Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.
- Loeb Music Library: Digital Scores and Libretti CollectionOngoing program at Harvard to digitize scores and libretti selected for their rare or unique natures and their popularity as objects of research and teaching. Digital versions can be viewed online or downloaded as PDFs. Includes first and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the 18th and early 19th centuries.
- Muse DataAn electronic library of classical music scores. One can access PDFs for both books of Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier from this site. This is a project of the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (CCARH).
- MutopiaSheet music editions of classical music for free download based on editions in the public domain and including works of Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart et al.
- Piano StreetMusic download library to classical piano sheet music (pdf). Also mp3 recordings of common easy and intermediate level pieces, Piano Forum ("information, knowledge, fun and friendship"), a music dictionary, etc.
- Schubert OnlineDigital reproductions of over 500 score autographs, letters and life document by Franz Schubert.
- Score On LinePDF sheet music --- 100% free.
- ScorSerSearch system of free sheet music, scores, midi and other music files. Links to other collections.
- Sheet Music ConsortiumA collaboration between UCLA, University of Indiana, Duke University and Johns Hopkins Univeristy that provides access to collections of sheet music of popular songs, many of them digitized, including the Library of Congress.
- Sibley Music Library at the Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester) Public Domain ScoresAs a service to scholars and musicians, the Sibley Music Library will make for personal use digital copies of scores from its collections that are in the public domain (for U.S. publications published before 1923 and no longer under copyright).
- WIMA: Werner Icking Music ArchiveSheet music downloads: A miscellany of subject-specific musical material that includes score images, informative texts, sound files and PDF-files.
Finding music scores and sheet music via the internet: selected sites that charge
Please note copyright stipulations, legal considerations, conditions of use, etc. for all of these websites. Also note that some of the websites that charge for scores also offer selected free access to scores.
- Music DispatchAn online destination for guitar/bass books, sheet music, instructional music DVDs, band & choral music, artist biographies, solo instrument music, classical music, church music, percussion, piano song books, software & more. Over 120,000 music products.
- Music RoomMusicroom - selection of sheet music, books about music, tuition books, music software, and musical instruments & accessories. "Everything for the musician."
- Music Scores: Classical Sheet MusicNon-members may download over 290 files for free. If you join music-scores.com you can get unlimited dowloads of their sheet music.
- SchubertlineThe online score service for singers. Instant printed sheet music of lieder, songs and arias --- view, play and print in any key using Slbelius Scorch, the free software for downloading and printing sheet music from the Internet.
- Shar MusicShar Music is the recognized string community market leader in the US, providing violin family instruments, bows, cases, accessories, strings and sheet music since 1962.
- Sheet Music Score.comAt sheet music found on this site are in Scorch or Finale format. To see and print the sheet music you will need the latest update of Sibelius Scorch plug-in or Finale.
- The Sheet Music ArchiveFree and subscription sheet music downloads invluding over 22,000 classical music pieces. Printable sheet music scores for piano, orchestra, choir and many classical instruments.
- Virtual Sheet Music"Classical Sheet Music Downloads" and traditional repertoire: Exclusive, pure digital sheet music with audio files to download instantly. Note: Members enjoy unlimited downloads.
Two other options for scores: Google Books and Internet Archive
From the google website (http://www.google.com) click on Google Books. Searches for scores might lead to some success. For example the search "Chopin piano score" yielded some scores of his piano works that could be printed. These are items out of copyright or if the publisher/author allows for full view.
Similarly, an Internet Archive (http://www.archive.org) search of the same terms "chopin piano score" led to some scores. Use the search box.
Subject Guide |
![]() J.Z. (Joe) Zhou Contact Info Head of Reference Department, University Library 2000 State University Drive, E. California State University, Sacramento Sacramento, CA 95819-6039 Tel: 916-278-6201 Fax: 916-278-5661 E-mail: zhou@csus.edu Send Email |
Other considerations concerning music score access
There are also music scores in Special Collections & University Archives (SCUA), including original and unpublished scores by notable and deceased CSUS Music Faculty (e.g., Daniel Kingman and James Adair). These very special materials have not been cataloged as scores and remain within the archived papers of these individuals. Please consult SCUA (278-6144 for access).
LibraryMusicSource.com (www.librarymusicsource.com) offers an enormous online database of classical music sheet music including the complete or near complete works of major composers. Unfortunately, due to budget constraints, we are unable to currently purchase this resource.
Another source of scores (as well as albums, references and videos) is a set offered by Alexander Street Press titled "Music Online." The total growing package includes Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song/African American Music, Contemporary World Music and Jazz Music Library. Currently we offer Classical Music Library only.


Loading...
