Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017
This guide will help you find country information for your country report. Click the tabs above to find online and print resources.
If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!
According to About.com a pretty safe answer seems to be 196 even though there are only 192 members of the United Nations. Some confusion is caused by territories which are erroneously called countries, but are actually governed by other countries (e.g. Puerto Rico, Greenland).
- Country Reports from Business Source Complete
Includes variety of reports on different aspects of countries including political, economic, investment, and social overviews. Also provides country data such as GDP, employment, production, etc.
Click Country Reports in right column to get started.
CSUS Authentication Required
- Europa World Year Book: A World Survey
Every country profile includes history, current event, statistics (area, population, economy, industry, finance, trade, transport, communications media, education), and directories of government, politics, society and media, and business and commerce.
Available in print at 2 North Reference D 2 .E87
- Background Notes
U.S. State Department site which contains information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Included are facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides basic information by country such as geography (location, area, etc.), people (population, birth rate, death rate, literacy, etc.), economy (gdp, inflation rate, labor force, unemployment, etc.), government, communications, military, and transportation.
- Doing Business
Sponsored by the World Bank, this free database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. Indicators cover topics such as starting a business, employing workers, paying taxes, getting credit, etc.
- Global Competitiveness Report
An authoritative, insightful and up-to-date analysis or macroeconomic and other data measures of comparative economic performance of the world's countries. Each country receives a "competitiveness Balance Sheet" profile with ratings on factors such as Competence of Public Officials, Value Added Tax rate, High Skilled IT Job Market, etc.
- IMF - World Economic Outlook
Recent international financial developments and provides revised economic forecasts for emerging and mature economies.
- World Development Indicators (WDI)
All data available in the print version. Ref. HC 59.15 W656
World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. The World Bank website provides some free charts and graphs as well.
Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.Send Email
, Human Resource Management
, International Business
, Organizational Behavior
, Real Estate and Land Use