This is the "Industry" page of the "GM 105 - Strategic Management - Luca" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GM 105 - Strategic Management - Luca   Tags: course_guide  

Resources to help you complete a company strategic audit for Professor Luca.
Last Updated: Feb 2, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/luca Print Guide RSS Updates

Industry Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide will help you find resources for doing a company strategic audit. Click the tabs above to find additional online and print resources.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!

Anne Bradley
bradleya@csus.edu
916-278-4350

 

Industry Codes

Fundamental to conducting industry research is the classification of economic activity. The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system is widely used to classify US economic activity. This system was developed by the Office of Management and Budget and is still used by the SEC as well as in some business information publications.

In 1997, a new system of classification was instituted incorporating Canada, Mexico and the United States and was called the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced "nakes" which rhymes with "snakes"). Today NAICS is used by the Census Bureau's Economic Census and in many business publications.

Getting started with Industry Analysis

Use these resources to help you understand the company's external environment (competition, econocmic and social conditions, etc.).

  • IBISWorld
    Provides Industry Market Research reports for more than 700 US industries. Each report is 20-30 pages and is written at the 5-digit level of the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Type search in box then scroll down to Document Type and click box next to Market Research. This will limit search to market research reports.
  • S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
    Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
    Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
  • Industry Profiles from Business Source Complete
    Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends.
  • Statista
    Includes statistical charts, graphs, and tables for a wide variety of industries. Items can be exported in a variety of formats including PowerPoint slides, images, and Excel tables.
  • Gartner
    Focuses on information technology sector. The Information Technology Portal from Gartner provides market research reports, product lifecycle analysis, vendor ratings, and research articles for the field of IT.
  • Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Provides detailed information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
    Either type you industry into the Search box at the left to search for your industry or click eTable of Contents to browse.
  • Value Line Research Center
    Either search for your industry by typing in the name in the "Search our site" box. Or, search for a company operating in the industry and click on the PDF icon located in Industry Analysis section.

Additional Sources for Industry Research

Many additional resources for doing industry research are listed on the following guide:

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Anne Bradley
Contact Info
University Library
Room 2501A
bradleya@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-4350

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip