Last Updated: Sep 25, 2017
This guide will help you find resources for doing a company case study. Click the tabs above to find additional online and print resources.
If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!
Use these resources to determine the market size, major players, etc. of a particular product or industry.
Expanded coverage starting summer 2016! Now includes 700 Industry Market Research reports as well as hundreds of Specialized Industries reports. Each Indsutry Market report is 20-30 pages and is written at the 5-digit level of the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
- Industry Profiles from Business Source Complete
Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends.
- ABI/Inform Complete
Type search in box then scroll down to Document Type and click box next to Market Research. This will limit search to market research reports.
Includes statistical charts, graphs, and tables for a wide variety of industries. Items can be exported in a variety of formats including PowerPoint slides, images, and Excel tables.
Focuses on information technology sector. The Information Technology Portal from Gartner provides market research reports, product lifecycle analysis, vendor ratings, and research articles for the field of IT.
- S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
- Encyclopedia of American Industries
Provides detailed information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
Either type you industry into the Search box at the left to search for your industry or click eTable of Contents to browse.
- Value Line Research Center
Either search for your industry by typing in the name in the "Search our site" box. Or, search for a company operating in the industry and click on the PDF icon located in Industry Analysis section.
Fundamental to conducting industry research is the classification of economic activity. The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system is widely used to classify US economic activity. This system was developed by the Office of Management and Budget and is still used by the SEC as well as in some business information publications.
In 1997, a new system of classification was instituted incorporating Canada, Mexico and the United States and was called the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced "nakes" which rhymes with "snakes"). Today NAICS is used by the Census Bureau's Economic Census and in many business publications.
Many additional resources for doing industry research are listed on the following guide:
Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.Send Email
, Human Resource Management
, International Business
, Organizational Behavior
, Real Estate and Land Use