Recommended resources for use in completing ENTR 187 assignments.
Last Updated: Aug 11, 2017
This guide will help you find resources for doing market research for your business plan. Click the tabs above to find additional online and print resources.
If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!
These related research guides may also be of use:
Use these resources to determine the market size, major players, etc. of a particular product or industry.
Expanded coverage starting summer 2016! Now includes 700 Industry Market Research reports as well as hundreds of Specialized Industries reports. Each Indsutry Market report is 20-30 pages and is written at the 5-digit level of the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
- S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
- ABI/Inform Complete
Type search in box then scroll down to Document Type and click box next to Market Research. This will limit search to market research reports.
Access provided by IRT. The Information Technology Portal from Gartner provides market research reports, product lifecycle analysis, vendor ratings, and research articles for the field of information technology.
- SBDC Small Business Snapshots
Very selective coverage, but for the businesses covered information includes industry trends, market statistics, customer demographics, recent business articles, and links to industry trade associations.
- Industry Profiles from Business Source Complete
Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends. Click "Industry" tab to get started.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries
Provides detailed information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
Either type you industry into the Search box at the left to search for your industry or click eTable of Contents to browse.
- Value Line Research Center
Either search for your industry by typing in the name in the "Search our site" box. Or, search for a company operating in the industry and click on the PDF icon located in Industry Analysis section.
Ratio sourcebooks contain financial and operating ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers. They can be used to provide guidance when putting together the financial section of your business plan. These are all available in print at 2 North Reference.
- Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
- RMA Annual Statement Studies Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68
- Financial Studies of the Small Business Ref. HD 2346 U5 F55a
Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.Send Email
, Human Resource Management
, International Business
, Organizational Behavior
, Real Estate and Land Use