Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Encyclopedias

Crime and Justice

Encyclopaedia, also spelled encyclopedia, reference work that contains information on all branches of knowledge or that treats a particular branch of knowledge in a comprehensive manner. Encyclopedia Britannica, http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/186603/encyclopaedia

Subject or specialized encyclopedias provide a focus on a topical area and are particularly useful in providing background information when starting research.

Below is a selected list of encyclopedias of interest for criminal justice. To find others conduct a keyword search with a topic and the word encyclopedia; e.g. fraud and encyclopedia.

To locate encyclopedias, use ONESEARCH and conduct a SUBJECT search with a subject and the subheading encyclopedia. Here are some examples:

Criminology -- Encyclopedias
Criminal justice, Administration of -- Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of crime and justice (electronic)
v. 1. Abortion to Cruel & unusual punishment -- v. 2. Delinquent & criminal subcultures to Juvenile justice: Institutions -- v. 3. Juvenile justice: Juvenile court to Rural crime -- v. 4. Schools & crime to Wiretapping & eavesdropping. Glossary. Indexes.
Encyclopedia of crime and punishment (paper)
Authoritative and comprehensive, this multivolume set includes hundreds of articles in the field of criminal justice addressing such diverse topics as racial profiling, money laundering, torture, prisoner literature, the KGB, and Sing Sing. Written in an accessible manner, pesents background discussions, definitions, and explanations of important issues and future trends are absorbing. Interesting sidebars and facts, reference lists, relevant court cases, tables, and black-and-white photographs
Encyclopedia of American law enforcement (paper)
Presents more than six hundred entries covering law enforcement topics from the colonial era to the present, including major law enforcement agencies, important people, law-enforcement techniques, and types of crime.
Encyclopedia of gangs (paper)
Examines gangs throughout the United States in over eighty entries covering topics such as history, the wide range of communities where gangs form, and their increasingly complex lifestyle.
Mafia encyclopedia (electronic)
More than 500 alphabetical entries provide information on the people, places and events associated with the Mafia.
Encyclopedia of terrorism (electronic)
An engaging single-volume encyclopedia, with over 300 entries, on the subject of terrorism worldwide.
Prisons and prison systems: a global encyclopedia (paper)
Prisons and prison systems have long been an overlooked part of criminal justice research. As a result, only limited material is available on many institutions. This comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview of institutions and systems around the world, as well as penal theories, prisoner culture and life, and notable prisoners and personnel." "Readers will find a wealth of information that includes material on famous prisons such as the Tower of London and Alcatraz, as well as o
Encyclopedia of Media Violence (electronic)
Provides students, researchers, and the general public with an accessible, comprehensive, and well-balanced evidence-based examination of theory, research and debates related to media violence.

Last Updated: Jan 4, 2024 1:43 PM