This is the "Find Articles & Journals" page of the "Recreation, Parks & Tourism Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Recreation, Parks & Tourism Administration   Tags: admininstration, parks, recreation, tourism  

An introduction to RPTA resources in the University Library
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/RPTA Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Library Database?

We have access to thousands of scholarly articles, newspapers, and popular magazines. How do you find the ones you need?  

This 1 minute video from the RMIT University Library explains it.

 

Databases for Articles

General Interdisciplinary Databases

Subject Specific Databases

  • SPORTdiscus  (Emphasis on sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, physical fitness and related disciplines. 

How to Do it.....

  • Get  articles that we don't have. It's Free through our InterLibrary Loan/ILLIAD service.  It usually takes 2-5 days.
  • Cheat Sheet to walk you through the process--from a database all the way to tthe article

  • Locating Articles (when you have a citation or from within a database)
 

Browse Journals

If you have a specific journal and want to determine if we have it online, search for it using the Journal Titles A-Z list.


If you have a topic, but don't which journal to use, begin by searching one of the databases  listed on the Find Articles page where you can search multiple journals at the same time.

Below are sample journals in  RPTA that you can  access online. Most are searchable by topic. Remember, this list is not exhaustive.

 

Tips

How to Do it.....

  • Get  articles that we don't have. It's Free through our InterLibrary Loan/ILLIAD service.  It usually takes 2-5 days.
  • Cheat Sheet to walk you through the process--from a database all the way to tthe article

  • Locating Articles (when you have a citation or from within a database)

Search Strategy Tips

  • Put  quotes around phrases,  Example: "coping skills" 

  • Combine synonyms using OR,  Example: motivation or behavior

  • Read the abstract to look for additional keywords and then rerun your search

  • Put each concept in it's own box

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is best used to find a specific article when you already have a ctiation, or as a tool to expand your reference list from a good article, rather than an intitial starting point for research. 

For access to the articles (from off-campus) be sure to change your settings to include the Find It link. Do this before you search in Google Scholar.



 

Got Questions? Ask me!

Debbie Metzger

dmetzger@csus.edu 

phone: (916) 278-7509


California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip