This is the "Databases for Articles" page of the "Political Science & Government Study" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library resources and Government Department information
Last Updated: May 2, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/politicalscience Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases for Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search these Databases for articles

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on Political Science. See the Databases & Article Searching page more database options.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    'This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.'
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    'America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.'
  • Annual Reviews
    'Since 1932; comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists; published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences'
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    'comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs; from 1991 onward includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundations..."
  • EconLit (EBSCO)
    'more than 450 international economic journals and other resources in economics and related areas.'
  • GenderWatch (ProQuest)
    ' focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas. '
  • JSTOR (ALL SUBJECTS)
    ' electronic archive to specific scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences; there is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR.'
  • Left Index (EBSCO)
    'diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.'
  • Military & Government (EBSCO)
    'current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government,
  • Oxford Journals
    Journals published by Oxford University Press
  • Sage Journals Online (Sage)
    'over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine'
  • Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
    'covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; subjects include: anthropology, economics, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, urban studies, etc.'
  • WestlawNext Campus Research
    'contains case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, and legal forms, newspaper articles, etc.'

Newspaper articles and reports

 

Scholarly journals vs non-scholarly journals

Scholarly journals are also called 'academic' or 'peer reviewed' journals. They publish articles written by scholars, specialists, or researchers in the field (as opposed to articles written by journalists reporting on or synthesizing research). Some Library databases have a check button for scholarly journals so that your search results would exclude non-scholarly journals. The databases without the limit are mainly for academic journals only. For more information about differernces  between scholarly and non-scholarly articles, check this guide Magazine or Scholarly Journal.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers.  Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explaination above).  Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

Click here for help using Google Scholar.




California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip