This is the "Journal Articles and Databases" page of the "World Mythology and Folklore" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World Mythology and Folklore   Tags: fairy_tales, folklore, folktales, literature, mythology, myths, religion, religious_studies  

Last Updated: Jun 28, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=695521 Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal Articles and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search these Databases for articles

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on Mythology and Folklore. See the Databases & Article Searching page Religious Studies for more database options.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles
  • ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
    Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Coverage: 1949 - present
  • JSTOR (All Subjects)
    JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. CSUS Library has subscriptions to the JSTOR Arts and Sciences I & II collections which together contain more than 230 titles JSTOR does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR.
  • Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
    Project Muse offers some 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.
  • AnnĂ©e philologique (EBSCO)
    The most comprehensive index to the scholarship of Classical studies (Ancient Greece and Rome) across all subject areas.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers.  Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explaination above).  Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

Click here for help using Google Scholar.



Films on Demand

  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand provides full video access to thousands of video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health & Medicine, Science & Mathematics, and Archival Films & Newsreels, Guidance & Counseling and many TV programs such as NBC News, PBS, BBC and more.

    The Films on Demand collection contains 28 subjects for easy browsing, including the subject Health and Medicine. Films may be searched by title or segment.

Hints for finding articles

Many of the databases will provide the article citation, abstract and full text of the article. To retrieve the full text of an article from within most databases click on the PDF or HTML icon or if not available use the Find It @SacState link, usually located at the end of an article record summary.

Finding specific journals

To find a specific journal use the Journal Titles A-Z List, or do a title search in OneSearch and limit the results to JOURNALS ( under 'Refine my Results' to the right of the screen.) ~~~

To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol. Truncation symbols vary by database, but the usual suspects are an asterisk * exclamation mark ! or a pound # sign. Click here for an explanation on the EBSCO databases.

~~~ A great way to see what the latest research is in any subject area is to select a journal (online of course, using the Journal Titles A-Z list) and then browse the table of contents.

      

    Off Campus Access

    Off-campus access is available to all current CSUS students, faculty, and staff to many Library electronic resources.

    Connecting to electronic resources from off-campus may require authentication with SacLink User ID and password. Full instructions are here. 

        

      California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip