Company - MBA 501 - Culminating Project in Business and Strategy - Research Guides at California State University Sacramento

Company Profiles

The depth of information provided varies in each source but most include history, competitors, basic financials, as well as basic directory information. MarketLine Company Profiles (from Business Source Premier) is the best place to start for US companies.

MarketLine Company Profiles (from Business Source Complete)
MarketLine, a Datamonitor company, is a business information company covering the automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology sectors. Covers major companies in those industries. Most companies will have a SWOT analysis included in the profile.
CSUS Authentication Required
Mergent Online
Provides information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Includes 15 years of financials, company history, executive compensation, analyst reports, more!
CSUS authentication required

WestlawNext Campus Research
Searchable by a combination of name, industry, and location. Click "Company Investigator" to get started.
Gale Business Insights
Includes company histories

Company Finances

US and international companies with publicly traded stock on US stock exchanges are required to file documents with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). These SEC documents are the source for financial information found in the resources listed below.

Mergent Online
Contains rolling archive up to 10 years for both US and International companies. CSUS Authorization Required

Value Line Research Center
Presents a concise analysis of a company's financial performance. Fundamental financials are also included.
To get started type your company's name or ticker symbol into the search box at the top of the page.
CSUS authentication required.

Yahoo! Finance
Free source for current three years of income statement, balance sheet, and cash flow. Quarterly and annual data available.

Ticker Symbols

A ticker symbol is a short abbreviation used to uniquely identify publicly traded shares of a particular company. You can find these in many of the business databases or you can use free financial websites such as Yahoo! Finance.

Additional Sources for Company Research

Many additional resources for doing company research are listed on the following guide:

Company Research Guide

Last Updated: Feb 15, 2024 5:24 PM