Research Guides: Computer Science and Computer Engineering: Journal Articles

Search these Databases for Articles

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on computer science topics. See the Databases & Article Searching page for Computer Science and for more database options.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
ACM Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Full text access to ACM magazines, transactions, journals, SIG newsletters and conferences. Coverage 1950’s-present.
Engineering Village (Ei)
Engineering Village: Online format of Compendex, indexing engineering and physical science journals, patents, conferences and technical reports. Coverage 1970-present.
IEEE XPlore
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Full text of all IEEE journals, transactions, standards and magazines, 1988 – present. IEEE-Wiley books 1974-2011. Indexing to IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) including IEE from 1872.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823-present. Updated 8/14/14
SpringerLink
Indexes over 1,500 journals published under the Springer imprint, including Birkhäuser, Brill, Consultants Bureau, Human Sciences Press, Plenum and Springer. The Sacramento State Library has fulltext access to archived content (1997-2012) for 248 titles.
Wiley Online Library (Wiley)
Wiley Online Library is the online journals service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Subjects covered are business, computer science, education, engineering, law, life and physical sciences, math, and psychology. Sacramento State users have full-text access 30 titles and open access content only.

Public Databases of Computer Science Literature

Cogprints
" an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks),..."
Computing Research Repository
CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository. CoRR is available to all members of of the community at no charge.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
"The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today."
OSTI.GOV - U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub.
OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites.

Off Campus Access

Off-campus access is available to all current CSUS students, faculty, and staff to many Library electronic resources.

Connecting to electronic resources from off-campus may require authentication with SacLink User ID and password. Full instructions are here.

Finding specific journals

To find a specific journal use the Journal Titles A-Z List, or do a title search in OneSearch a journal and limit the results to JOURNALS ( under 'Refine my Results' to the left of the screen.) ~~~

To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol. Truncation symbols vary by database, but the usual suspects are an asterisk * exclamation mark ! or a pound # sign. Click here for an explanation on the EBSCO databases.

~~~ A great way to see what the latest research is in any subject area is to select a journal (online of course, using the Journal Titles A-Z list) and then browsing the table of contents.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers. Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explaination above). Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

Click here for help using Google Scholar.

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2024 4:49 PM