This is the "Library Databases & Articles" page of the "Bio1: Library Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A series of modules, mostly short videos, to explain the research process.
Last Updated: Aug 24, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/Bio1 Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Databases & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

6. What is a Library Database?

We have access to thousands of scholarly articles, newspapers, and popular magazines. How do you find the ones you need?  With so many to choose from, it can all seem a bit confusing. 

RMIT University Library  

Video 1:37 [and narrator has a lovely Australian accent]

 

7. Searching the Database: Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts is the best database for searching in biology. These 9 slides will walk you through the process. Searching tips included!

 

8. Getting Started From MySacState

 

9. Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that searches for scholarly articles. It is great when you have a citation, but doesn't allow for the kinds of refinements you can do in the databases, especially at the beginning of a search. 

You must change some settings on your home computer so that the Find It@SacState link will display.

Follow these instructions:

Go to Google Scholar http://googlescholar.com

1. Click on Settings (or More and then Settings)

2. Click on Library Links

3.Type Sacramento State into the empty Show library access links box and search.  Check the box for Sacramento State - View it @ Sac State and then Save

4. For available articles, the Find It or View It  link will appear on the right (or sometimes under the citation)

 or

Click on Find It and go read!

Optional Advanced Searching Tip: Google Scholar has a Cited Search feature (as do many other databases) that allows you to take a known citation and see if anyone else has cited it. For more information follow this link

 

10. If We don't Have It...How to Get It

It's easy, fast and free.

Articles from journals which the Sacramento State Library does not have a subscription to can be requested through the free Interlibrary loan service. We will get a copy for you which will most often be delivered in electronic format.

To get started, log  into ILLiad on this page: https://illiad.csus.edu/illiad/logon.html

Once you have an ILLiad account you can start submitting requests for  articles, videos, etc. that the library doesn't own.

FAQ's:: http://library.csus.edu/interlibrary-loan 

 

 

11. Google Vs. Databases

Another attempt to convince you why Google isn't always the answer.

Northeastern Illinois University Library

Video: 1:39

 

Go to the next section of the tutorial

Go back to the top of the page and continue with the Find Books tab.

 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip