This is the "When You Are in a Database" page of the "Locating Articles: Online (full-text) or Print " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Locating Articles: Online (full-text) or Print   Tags: articles, finding full-text, full_text, how_to, locating articles, online articles  

Explains the steps to find an article online (full text) or in print when you are in a database, or have a citation.
Last Updated: Aug 2, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/findfulltext Print Guide RSS Updates

When You Are in a Database Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

1) When You are in a Database

1. When you are in a database, you will often see one of the screens below:
         [These are from EBSCO database; use the Database Examples tab above for different examples]

2. If you see the PDF Full Text graphic, click on it and the article should open.

3.  If not, click on the Find It or View It@ Sac State link, or the Check availability from other CSUS subscription.....

4. Which takes you to another screen of potential choices:

Finding full text options image

5. Click on one of the Full text available at  options. The link will do one of the following:

  • Open the article
  • Open an abstract of the article [from which you will need to look for the PDF or html of the complete article]
  • Display a table of contents for a journal
  • Open thu Library Catalog and display the years that we have for the journal (not the article).

NOTE: This example is from an EBSCO Database....not all records will have this format. Go to the tab for Database Examples to find how it will appear in a specific database. 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
University Library
Room 3027
dmetzger@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-7509

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip