This is the "Articles" page of the "SacCT and Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SacCT and Library Resources   Tags: blackboard, sacct  

These instructions should provide guidance for adding links from within your SacCT course to the Library resources.
Last Updated: Mar 4, 2014 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/sacct Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Persistent Links

Persistent links have a variety of names in the databases. Here are some of the most common:

  • Permalink
  • Stable URL
  • Persistent URL
  • Document URL

Proxy Statement:
http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=

 

DOI Hints

Many scholarly publishers have been assigning unique identifiers to each published article.

The DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is an alpha-numeric code registered to each scholarly article in order to assign a persistent link to the article. 

Where do I find a DOI?

It may be part of a database record citation or abstract. It may be found on the first page of the article, especially in pdf format.

Use DOI Lookup

Cut and paste a citation into CrossRef Simple Text Query 

Verify a known DOI by using CrossRef DOI Resolver

DOI Statement:
http://dx.doi.org/

 

Introduction

There are 2 ways to add articles to your SacCt course; the one you choose will depend upon your familiarity with the databases as well as your technical expertise and knowledge of copyright. 

A simple copy and paste of the browser url will not work in most of the Library databases because the browser address box URL contains a dynamic link, one that does not last after your session. 

  • Create a Stable link or a DOI to the Article (Science Direct, Emerald, Wiley, etc.) 
    • Advantages:
      • No copyright worries
      • Less clicking for students
    • Disadvantages: more work to create the link
  • Create a link in Onesearch to the VIew IT menu
    • Advantages:
      • No copyright worries
      • Access is often maintained when journal moves to a different database
    • Disadvantges:
      • Students must know how to move from the View It link to the actual article
  • Scan your article and place it inside your course
    • Disadvantage: Copyright/Fair Use Issues must be addressed

 

Creating Stable Links

Creating Stable Links

A simple copy and paste of the browser url will not work in most of the Library databases because the browser address box URL contains a dynamic link, one that does not last after your session. 

The first part of the link needs to include the Proxy statement so that off-campus authenticated users can access restricted resources. It is followed by the persistent link provided by the database or a DOI [Digital Object Identifier].

Look at the Specific Database examples for help locating the persistent link or DOI, and instructions for creating the Weblink for your SacCt course.

The link for a stable URL will look something like this:
      http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/4218646

The link for a DOI will look like this:
      http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/08858621111179877

Sometimes you will only be able to create a persistent link to the Find It Menu. From there the student must click on the appropriate icon, which will take them to the complete article. Use the "Where's the Article" tab for an explanation.

Always test your link from a non-authenticated computer (i.e., off-campus) before going live.

Proxy Statement:
http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=

DOI Statement:
http://dx.doi.org/

 

Hints for Specific Databases- ACS

American Chemical Society Publications

  1. Copy the DOI from your summary record:
    American Chemical Society Publications image
  2. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  3. Add the DOI statement: http://dx.doi.org/    
    before the DOI number.
  4. Prepend the Proxy statement:
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
    to the beginning of the URL
  5. It should look similar to this:


 

Hints for Specific Databases Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library

  1. Click on the play link, next to the title of the music.

  2. Click on the embed and Permalink graphic, located to the right of the up/down scrolling bar
  3. Copy the Permalink

  4. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  5. Prepend the  Proxy Statement to the beginning of the URL
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
  6. It should look something like this:

 

Hints for Specific Databases CQ Reseachers and other CQ Databases

CQ Researcher & Other CQ Databases

  1. Copy the Document URL; it is usually located near the end of an article
  2. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  3. Prepend the  Proxy Statement to the beginning of the URL
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
  4. Paste it into your SacCT link. It should look something like this:
 

Hints for Specific Databases--EBSCO

EBSCO Databases [Academic Search Premier, ERIC, PSYCInfo, etc.]

  1. From the summary record, click on  Permalink:
  2. Copy the entire URL from the box:


  3. Paste it into a SacCT Weblink. Note: this links to the summary record in the EBSCO Database.
 

Hints for Specific Databases--Emerald Fulltext

Emerald Fulltext

  1. Copy the DOI; it is usually located near the end of the abstract or somewhere on the PDF.
  2. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  3. Add the DOI statement: http://dx.doi.org/    
    before the DOI number.
  4. Prepend the Proxy statement:
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
    to the beginning of the URL
  5. It should look like this:


 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

 

You can create a link for SacCT using Google Scholar, however you must set preferences to allow students off-campus access.

For more information refer to the Google Scholar Research Guide.

 

Hints for Specific Databases JSTOR

JSTOR

  1. Click on Article Summary from the record summary

  2. Copy the Stable URL
  3. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  4. Prepend the Proxy Statement to the beginning of the URL
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
  5. It should look something like this:

 

Hints for Specific Databases- OneSearch

OneSearch

OneSearch provides 2 options for moving resources into SacCT.
You must sign in to OneSearch for this to work. And so should your students.

  • Method 1 
    Push them (single or multiple items) via the Send to SacCT link. This creates links which are then manipulated from within SacCT.
    1. From Summary record, click on Details or View It [located under title]


    2. Click on Send To and then select SacCT 9.1 Faculty Use


    3. Complete required fields. Note: Students may not know how to navigate from the summary record  to the actual article. Refer them to the "Where's the Article" tab for complete instructions:   http://csus.libguides.com/findfulltext

  • Method 2
    Begin at the SacCT interface and create a link to an existing e-shelf in OneSearch. This creates a list of items in SacCT. Items are manipulated from the OneSearch interface. You can add items to your e-shelf and they will be updated in SacCT. Note: you must have an existing OneSearch Basket to use this method.
    1. From your SacCT course, select Build Content, then Add Library E-Shelf Folder

    2. Select the Folder you want to add and select Submit:
    3. This creates a link the students can select:
    4. And then to a list of titles contained in the OneSearch E-Shelf:

      Note: Students may not know how to navigate from this link  to the actual article. Refer them to the "Where's the Article" tab for complete instructions:   http://csus.libguides.com/findfulltext 



 

Hints for Specific Databases Proquest

Proquest

  1. Click on Citation/Abstract from the record summary

  2. Copy the Document URL; it is usually located near the end of the indexing (details)
  3. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  4. It should look something like this:

 

Hints for Specific Databases NewsBank Databases/ Sacramento Bee

Newsbank/Sacramento Bee

  1. Open the article you want to read and scroll to the end of the article
  2. Right click over the article title and Copy Shortcut (or Copy Link Address) from the drop-down menu 
    insert graphic
  3. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  4. You do not need to add a Proxy Statement, it is already part of the Document URL test to confirmn
    insert graphic
 

Hints for Specific Databases Sage

Sage

  1. Click on Abstract from the record summary

  2. Copy the DOI
  3. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  4. Add the DOI statement: http://dx.doi.org/    
    before the DOI number.
  5. Prepend the Proxy Statement to the beginning of the URL
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
  6. It should look something like this:


 

Hints for Specific Databases Science Direct

Science Direct

  1. Click on the article title from the record summary
  2. Copy the DOI; it is usually located under the article title and below the address of the author

    Or may be found by selecting the Bibliographic Information link from the right column:
  3. Note: depending on how you copy the link, it may or may not include the DOI statement. 
  4. Paste it into your SacCT Weblink
  5. If lacking, add the DOI statement: http://dx.doi.org/    
    before the DOI number.
  6. Prepend the Proxy Statement to the beginning of the URL
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
 

Hints for Specific Databases--Wiley Interscience

Wiley Interscience

  1. Copy the DOI; it is usually located near the end of the summary record or somewhere on the PDF.

  2. Paste it into your SacCT Web Link
  3. Add the DOI statement: http://dx.doi.org/    
    before the DOI number
  4. Prepend the Proxy statement:
    http://proxy.lib.csus.edu/login?url=
    to the beginning of the URL
  5. It should look something like this:

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
University Library
Room 3027
dmetzger@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-7509

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip