General ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopediasBibliographies/Indexes
This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Byzantine Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Byzantine Studies   Tags: byzantine, byzantium, greece, greek, hellenic, hellenism, studies  

Guide to interdisciplinary research in Byzantine studies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/byzantinestudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hints

1. To find a specific print or e-journal by title or ISSN, search the Journal Titles List.


2. When you already know the article author, title, journal, issue, etc., and just need to find the full-text (if available), try the Article Citation Linker!


3. To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol, often an asterisk "*". So searching photo* will simultaneously search photo, photos, photography, photographic, etc.

      

    Google Scholar



    Off-campus Access

    Off-campus access is available to all current CSUS students, faculty, and staff to many Library electronic resources.

    Connecting to electronic resources from off-campus may require authentication with SacLink User ID and password. Full instructions are here. 

        

      Article Databases

      Byzantinische Zeitschrift is most comprehensive index to the scholarship of Byzantine studies across all disciplines. However, the databases below can also be used to find references to articles, books, etc. in different subject areas in addition to OneSearch or through interlibrary loan.

      • L'Année philologique
        The most comprehensive index to the scholarship of Classical studies (Ancient Greece and Rome) across all subject areas, including Byzantium to about the 7th century C.E. Covers the years 1924-2010.
      • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
        Extensive multidisciplinary article database. A great place to start.
      • ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
        Coverage: 1818-. Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Contains over 1 million records.
      • Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
        The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Coverage spans 1940-present.
      • Oxford Art Online (Oxford)
        Oxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources.
      • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
        Coverage: 1861-. The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Full text available for most of the dissertations added since 1997. The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection holds nearly 400 dissertations on microfilm.
      • Gale Literary Databases (Gale)
        Includes Contemporary Authors,Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Individual databases may be searched together or separately. For Byzantine studies, the Dictionary of Literary Biography is most useful.
      • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
        Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. Spans world history excluding the United States to 1450.
      • JSTOR
        Growing electronic archive of core scholarly journals in numerous disciplines, with emphasis on the social sciences and humanities.
      • MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
        Coverage: 1884-. MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
      • Project Muse: Scholarly Journals On-line
        Collection of some 250 full-text journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.
      • Ethniko Archeio Didaktorikōn Diatrivōn
        Currently the database contains more than 18,000 records including full-text dissertations since 1985 and 5% of dissertations from the years 1932–1985, encompassing 80% of the total dissertation production in Greece.

      Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

      Profile Image
      George I. Paganelis
      Contact Info
      University Library, #3025 & #1511
      California State University, Sacramento
      2000 State University Drive East
      Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
      Phone: (916) 278-4361
      Fax: (916) 278-5917
      Send Email
       

      California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip