This is the "Find books" page of the "Library FAQ or How do I...?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library FAQ or How do I...?   Tags: alumni, community_borrower, faq, how to, how_to, lib_53, lib_65, room 11  

Last Updated: Jun 13, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/FAQ Print Guide

Find books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I find books?

Use EUREKA, the Library's online catalog. Search by keyword, title, author, or subject in the entire catalog or by collection or location. Advanced searches provide additional options such as language, material type and year.

 

How can I read or print an ebook?

The Library has several different electronic book - ebook - platforms. See this Research Guide for help with each one. Ebooks are available off campus to those with a SacLink account and may not be accessible to the public even in the Library building.

 

How do I place a hold or reserve a book for pick up?

Holds can be placed only when a book is already checked out. When you place a hold, you will be notified when it is ready for you to pick up.

Books are shelved in the Library and available for all to use. We do not fetch books and save them for you to pick up later.

 

Where do I rent textbooks?

Go to the campus Bookstore. The Library lends books.

Your texts and other required materials may have been placed on Course Reserve in the Library. Your professor decides how long you may keep the book, usually 2 hours, so others may use it too.

 

Where do I go to get a book?

In EUREKA, each item will have a location and call number. It will also indicate if the item is available for check-out.

You will need both the location and the whole call number to find the item.

If you can't find the book on the shelf, come to the 2nd floor Reference Desk for help.

There is also an entire guide dedicated to helping you understand how to find a book: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=142983

 

Where do I go to borrow the book?

Once you have found the book you want, take it to User Services on the 1st floor to check it out. You'll need your OneCard ID.

If you can't find the book on the shelf, come to the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor for help.

 

Where are the biographies or the fiction sections.

The Library uses the Library of Congress system which keeps books together by subject. Dictionaries, handbooks, biographies, nonfiction and fiction on a subject will be shelved together. Use Eureka to locate the call number area where the subject will be found.

 

How do I find Sac State theses?

Use EUREKA. Search by keyword - try a department or word that may be in the title - and change "Entire Collection" to "CSUS Theses Collection". You can also search by advisor. The Theses Collection includes graduate projects.

Since 2009, most theses can also be found online in our Scholarworks Repository.

 

Do you have children's books?

Yes. They are included in EUREKA. Search by keyword, author or subject and change "Entire Collection" to "Juvenile Collection." Use the Advanced Keyword Search to limit by language.

They are usually shelved on 2South, in the Juvenile section, following the Dewey Decimal system used in most public libraries.

We also have a Curriculum Collection of state supported textbooks.


California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip