This is the "Find articles" page of the "Library FAQ or How do I...?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library FAQ or How do I...?   Tags: alumni, community_borrower, faq, how to, how_to, lib_53, lib_65, room 11  

Last Updated: Jun 13, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/FAQ Print Guide

Find articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

I need articles for a paper. Where do I start?

You have options:

1. Try OneSearch. Enter your search words and then limit your results to articles.

2. To use a specific database,  start by opening Database and Article Searching and a choosing your subject area. You’ll see the list of databases most appropriate for your topic. In addition, librarians have put together Research Guides to help you locate sources of information. If you need more help, come see us at the Reference Desk 916-278-5673 or call for an appointment. 

 

 

 

What’s a scholarly or peer reviewed or refereed journal?

See this Research Guide, Magazine or Scholarly Journal. Most databases allow you to limit the results to scholarly/academic/peer reviewed articles only.

 

Help!

The Library holds drop-in workshops on searching for articles and reference formatting.

You can chat with a librarian at anytime or email us.

Come to the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor for help or contact a subject librarian.

 

How do I find online articles?

Try OneSearch. Type in the keywords you would find in a good article, placing quotation marks around phrases. On the results page, use the facets on the left to limit your search to articles. Open the Find It link to see if it's available online.  

For more specific subject searches,go to Search by Subject  in Database and Article Searching. Choose a subject in order to limit the database list to those most appropriate for your topic. Academic Search Premier (by EBSCO) covers most academic subjects and is a good place to start. There are other databases that cover single subjects in greater depth for more rigorous research. If you want scholarly or peer reviewed articles, limit your search with that check box. When you see your results, if an article isn’t full text in this database, click on SFXto see if it is available in another database. Do not limit your initial search to full text because we may have it elsewhere.

 

Why can't I see the full article online?

Not everything is available online. From off campus,  you must go through the Library's pages to authenticate your connection through our proxy with your Saclink login.  

Or it’s possible that the article you want to see is not available electronically. If you clicked on SFXwhen you found an article you wanted to see, a new window with possible sources for the article would open. Depending on our subscription, it may be available in a different database, in print in the Library, or not available. If we don't have a journal or the year you want,  use ILLiad to ask for a copy.

 

I know what journal I need. How do I find it?

Check EUREKA, the Library catalog, to see if we subscribe. There may be a link to the online issues.

Next, open the “Journal Titles” for online journals that aren’t included in EUREKA. This is a list of journals that have full text articles in databases or are in print in the Library.

 

I have the citation for an article. How do I find it?

Look under the "Journal Titles" tab on the Library's homepage to see if we have a subscription to the journal. Search for the journal title, not the title of the article.

If you are in a database and find an article you want to view, open the "Find It" link to see if we have it in a different database or in print. 

Sometimes you will need to maneuver through a list of years and/or volumes of the journal before you can open your article.

Try CrossRef if you have an incomplete citation.

 

I need help with APA or MLA.

Most databases offer the option to save or export citations in several styles, such as APA or MLA.

See examples of common formats for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles under Research Guides > Writing Guides.


California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip