Nutrition

Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory, applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become the gold standard of health behavior texts. This new fifth edition has been updated to reflect the most recent changes in the public health field with a focus on health behavior, including coverage of the intersection of health and community, culture, and communication, with detailed explanations of both established and emerging theories. Offering perspective applicable at the individual, interpersonal, group, and community levels, this essential guide provides the most complete coverage of the field to give public health students and practitioners an authoritative reference for both the theoretical and practical aspects of health behavior. A deep understanding of human behaviors is essential for effective public health and health care management.

The fourth edition of Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice provides a straightforward, user-friendly model for designing effective nutrition education programs that address the personal and environmental factors affecting individuals' food choices and assists them in adopting healthy behaviors throughout their lifetime. Built around the six-step DESIGN process, the Fourth Edition integrated research, theory, and practice and provides advice and direction on designing, implementing, and evaluating theory-based nutrition education.

Featuring case studies and discussion questions, this textbook - with revisions addressing significant changes to US food law - offers accessible coverage appropriate to a wide audience of students and professionals. Overviews the federal statutes, regulations, and regulatory agencies concerned with food regulation and introduces students to the case law and statutory scheme of food regulation Focuses updated content on the 2011 FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA), the biggest change to US food law since the 1930s Contains over 20% new material, particularly a rewritten import law chapter and revisions related to food safety regulation, health claims, and food defense Features case studies and discussion questions about application of law, policy questions, and emerging issues

Prepare for your career in Nutrition with ADVANCED NUTRITION AND HUMAN METABOLISM. You'll find even the most complex metabolic processes and concepts easy to understand as the authors equip you with a solid understanding of: digestion absorption, and metabolism of fat, protein, and carbohydrates; The structures and functions of water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins; the functions of water and minerals in the body; and nutrient food sources, recommended intakes, deficiency and toxicity.

Introduction to the US Food System: Public Health, Environment, and Equity is a comprehensive and engaging textbook that offers students an overview of today's US food system, with particular focus on the food system's interrelationships with public health, the environment, equity, and society.

Real-world controversies and debates motivate the book's attention to economic principles, policy analysis, nutrition science and contemporary data sources. The book assumes that the reader's concern is not just the economic interests of farmers and food producers but also includes nutrition, sustainable agriculture, food justice, the environment and food security. The goal is to make U.S. food policy more comprehensible to those inside and outside the agri-food sector whose interests and aspirations have been ignored. The chapters cover U.S. agriculture, food production and the environment, international agricultural trade, food and beverage manufacturing, food retail and restaurants, food safety, dietary guidance, food labeling, advertising and federal food assistance programs for the poor.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide has continually served as the gold-standard resource for advice on healthy eating and active living at every age and stage of life.