This is the "Cite Sources" page of the "Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archaeology   Tags: anthropology, archaeology, classical  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/archaeology Print Guide RSS Updates

Cite Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citing Sources

We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty, or plagiarism.  There are various formats for citing sources; your instructor will advise you of which to follow. 

  • APA Video Tutorial
    Explains the purpose of citing as well as explaining the parts of a citation. The rules are for APA (American Psychological Association), but the concepts are universal.
  • APA 6th edition
    A guide that includes examples of various citations.
  • MLA
    This guide provides examples for various citations according to the rules of MLA, The Modern Language Association (most often used in the humanities).
  • AAA Style Guide
    An outline of style rules basic to the journals published under the auspices of the American Anthropological Association.
  • Chicago Manual of Style Guide 15th edition
    CSUS brief guide to the Chicago Style Manual. When no rule is present in AAA citation style, follow Chicago.

Managing Your Bibliographic References

EndNote and Zotero are bibliographic management tools which enable you to create a searchable database from reference you find in the online catalog.  These programs interact with your Microsoft Word documents to automatically format your references and create footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies in your chosen citation format.

  • EndNote X7/X8
    The campus has purchased a site license, which allows students, faculty, and staff to download a copy of EndNote X7/X8. This program takes time to learn and is best used for large numbers of references.
  • EndNote Web
    Best for students who want to create simple bibliographies. Resides on the web.
  • Zotero
    A Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources.

Plagiarism

  • Plagiarism Guide
    Explains plagiarism and provides tips for those who wish to avoid it.

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip