This is the "Articles" page of the "Food " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Food   Tags: cultural_anthropology, facs  

A research guide for the cultural aspects of food.
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/food Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hints

To find a specific journal use the Journal Titles A-Z  List

~~~

To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol. Truncation symbols vary by database, but the usual suspects are an asterisk * exclamation mark ! or a pound # sign. Click for an explanation from EbscoHost databases.

~~~

A great way to see what the latest research is in any subject area is to select a journal (online of course, using the Journal Titles list) and then browsing the table of contents.

~~~

Here are some of the journals on food that you can search via the Journal tab

Article Databases

Articles can be identified by searching in one of the Library databases. Try one of these databases or the Subject list of Databases or the  A-Z list of Databases to find a database.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Best place to start your search, includes all aspects (science, policy, law).
  • AGRICOLA Article Citation Database (NAL)
    Includes citations to journal articles, books reports, etc. from the National Agriculture Library. Switch from the default basic search to a keyword search for better results. There is no "Find It" link within Agricola, so you will need to use the Article Citation Linker, or EUREKA to determine if we own a publication.
  • America: History and Life (1964-date)
    Includes bibliographic references to the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1964-date
  • Anthropology Plus
  • eHRAF World Cultures
    A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Not the easiest to use but it delves into the literature of different cultural groups.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
    All aspects of sociology including feeding, family, and diet.
  • Science Direct (Elsevier)
    Often finds articles related to nutrition, but you may find a gem! Full text and often very technical.

Finding the Actual Article

Many of the databases will only provide you with a citation. To retreive the full text of an article from within most databases,
use the  FindIt@SacState graphic Find It @SacState which can usually be found at the end of a database record summary.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
University Library
Room 3027
dmetzger@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-7509

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip