This is the "Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc." page of the "Food " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Food   Tags: cultural_anthropology, facs  

A research guide for the cultural aspects of food.
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/food Print Guide RSS Updates

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hints:

Books are shelved by subject, so if you find a good book be sure to browse the titles of the books nearby; you never know what gems you'll find.

 

Bibliographies

Although not full text, a bibliography might just include a reference to the perfect book or journal for your paper.

  • Melting pot : an annotated bibliography and guide to food and nutrition information for ethnic groups in America
     2 NORTH Reference 
    TXZ 7914 .F63 N48 1986 
  • Food--custom and nurture: an annotated bibliography on sociocultural and biocultural aspects of nutrition
     4 NORTH
    TXZ 5775 .F7 W45 c.3

Online Reference

If you are unfamiliar with a topic, it is often best to start with an encyclopedia, or reference book to gain a basic understaning of your topic as well as terminology used in the field.

Encyclopedias

These books are not online, but they should be on the shelves. They are a great place to get started.
[Note: The link connects to the full record, including call number in OneSearch]

  • Cultural encyclopedia of vegetarianism
    2 NORTH Reference TX 392 .C85 2010
  • Cultural Foods: Traditions and Trends
    2 North Reference TX 725 .A1 K545 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food
    2 NORTH Reference S 494.5 .B563 E53 2011
    "Includes descriptions and interpretations of molecular biology research, including topics on the science associated with the cloning of animals, the genetic modification of plants, and the enhanced quality of foods. It discusses current and future applications of molecular biology, with contributions on disease resistance in animals, drought-resistant plants, and improved health of consumers via nutritionally enhanced foods." -- the publisher
  • Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food
    4 NORTH TX 370 .S63 2006
    "Alphabetically arranged entries cover the types of junk food (Extruded snacks, Ginger ale, Hot dogs); specific brands (Moon Pie, Mounds Bar, Mountain Dew); companies (Frito-Lay, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Panda Express); health issues (Diabetes, Foodborne illnesses); and a variety of other related topics, from Animal rights movement, Anti-unionization, and Architecture and design to Sports sponsorships, Vending machines, and Waste"--Booklist
  • Encyclopedia of world cultures
    2 NORTH Reference GN 333 .W67 1998 v.1-4
    Provides information on 500 cultures of the world, covering twenty different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language, and religion.1. Africa -- v. 2. Americas -- v. 3. Asia and Oceania -- v. 4. Europe
  • Oxford Companion to Food
    4 NORTH TX 349 .D36 2006
  • The atlas of food : who eats what, where, and why
    2 NORTH Atlas HD 9000.5 .M52 2008
    "This small atlas examines “every link in the food chain.” Among the specific topics that are addressed are distribution, mechanization, genetic modification, and marketing. Distilling a great deal of information into an attractive package, the atlas offers a good introduction to the global food system."--Booklist
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America /
    2 NORTH Reference TX 349 .E45 2004 v.1-2

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
University Library
Room 3027
dmetzger@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-7509

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip