Find CSUS Master's ThesesFind Dissertations
This is the "Survey Research & Data" page of the "Sacramento: Sources for Government, Statistics, and Local Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sacramento: Sources for Government, Statistics, and Local Information   Tags: demographics, history, sacramento  

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=243666 Print Guide RSS Updates

Survey Research & Data Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Suvey Research

Survey research a research method involving the use of questionnaires and/or statistical surveys to gather data about people and their thoughts and behaviours. This method was pioneered in the 1930s and 1940s by sociologist Paul Lazarsfeld
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Survey_research

California Survey Research

Field Poll was established in 1947 as The California Poll by Mervin Field and has operated continuously as an independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion. Surveys are made at frequent intervals throughout the year. Continuing measures are made of voter support for leading political figures vying for major state and federal offices, job ratings of important political figures and reactions to significant political events. Voter awareness, understanding and predispositions of major campaign issues and salient statewide ballot propositions are also tracked over time. The Field Poll currently issues forty to fifty reports per year. Each report consists of 3-10 pages of text and statistical data, and includes a background section providing details about the interviewing method, sample size, question wording and other technical data.

National Survey Data Sources

  • Polling the Nation
    A collection of public opinion with information from the U.S. and over 100 countries worldwide. The database began in 1981 and comprises over 500,000 questions from various sources including Gallup, Harris, Roper and others. There are over 5600 topics in the database on a broad array of issues. Updated monthly.
  • American Public Opinion Index
    A paper index in the Reference Collection that is arranged by subjects and provides periodic and special surveys conducted from 1981-2000 on a variety of topics. Once one locates a survey, one can find the data on microfiche in the Library Media Center on the first floor (Microfiche 010040)
  • Gallup Poll
    A collection of polls conducted from 1937-1990 on a variety of topics. Located in the Library's Reference Collection, each volume contains questions asked and responses. A subject index in the back of each volume allows quick and easy location of surveys.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip