The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.
The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. ref Z 253 .C57 2010
Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian), 8th ed. ref LB 2369 .T8 2013
MLA handbook for writers of research papers, 7th ed. 1st floor, User Services LB 2369 .G53 2009
MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing, 3rd ed. ref PN 147 .G444 2008
AP Associated Press stylebook and briefing on media law ref PN 4783 .A83 2005
Modern Language Association or MLA style is widely accepted in the humanities. This guide is based on the 3rd edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (PN 147 .G444 2008) and the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (LB 2369 .G53 2009).
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Online cite authored by Peter W. Martin. The most recent edition of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 19th ed, was published in 2010. Another reference prepared by the Association of Legal Writing Directors, the ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation (4th ed. 2010) has won wide acceptance in law schools. This cite combines both sources.
Contact Leilani Hall with questions or comments about this Research Guide. This guide is based on the original Writing Guide by Debbie Rogenmoser. email@example.com or 916 278-6422
Natural Sciences and Health
The Council of Science Editors - CSE - is the primary authority for biology and other natural sciences formatting style. Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields.
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers, 8th ed. ref T 11 S386 2014
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors, 10th ed. ref R 119 .A533 2007
Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters. For spelling reference, IEEE Publications uses Webster’s College Dictionary, 4th Edition. For guidance on grammar and usage not included in this manual, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style, published by the University of Chicago Press.
AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition, 2006). This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style. Where no rule is present on this list, follow Chicago.
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.