This is the "Cited Reference Databases" page of the "Cited Reference Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cited Reference Searching  

This guide explains an advanced searching technique: how to use an existing citation to find related works.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2016 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/CitedReferenceSearching Print Guide RSS Updates

Cited Reference Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

CSUS Database Links

Use these links to go to the databases that allow citation searching.
Use the tab Database Details to learn how it is done, as it varies by database.

 

The Database List is Not Comprehensive...

but should give you an idea of how to do this type of searching.

 

The Best Cited Reference Searching Databases

There are two big players in this game: Web of Science (ISI/Thompson Reuters) and Scopus. Our Library does not have a subscription to Scopus (it is incredibly expensive) and a partial subscription to the Web of Science including:

  • Science Citation Index 1999-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index 1999-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2009-present

By default, all sections will be searched. If you wish to limit to a subsection, click on the More Settings .

Then select/deselect your choices:

Click here, to go to the Thompson ReutuersYouTube tutorial: Web of Science Core Collection: How to do a Cited Reference Search.

 

Other Options for Cited Reference Searching

Many of our databases offer citation searching; they just may not be as comprehensive as those listed above and they don't always call it cited reference searching.  Use the tab above, Database Details, to get details on how to do a cited reference search in a specific database.

Google Scholar  [for science] is a good place to start becuase they include more than just one database.

Subject Librarian

Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
(916) 278-7509
University Library, Room 3027
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip