This is the "Definitions" page of the "Annotated Bibliography Composition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annotated Bibliography Composition   Tags: annotated bibliographies, annotations, bibliographies  

Annotated Bibliographies
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2015 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=218045 Print Guide RSS Updates

Definitions Print Page
  Search: 
 

Definitions

Annotated Bibliography: a list of books and/or articles [bibliography] followed by a brief statement about the text. The statement can vary in length from a sentence or two to a paragraph, roughly150 words.

 

Arrangement: alphabetically by author, each item includes all basic bibliographic information as is contained in a bibliography or "works cited"or citations, for example: statements of the author, title, edition, place of publication, publisher, date of publicatio and the annotation. Follow the bibliographic style prescribed, e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago or others.

Annotation: a brief description or explanation of the material, intended as a guide for the reader. It may be descriptive*, indicating the major points of the work or evaluativegiving the annotator's opinion of the work.

 

General Format: begins with the principal point, presents subsidiary or supporting points and a conclusion.  In an evaluative annotation the conclusion is often a recommendation.

*Abstract- provides a summary of the main points of a work without evaluating the work [descriptive]. 

      

    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip