TextbooksEncyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
This is the "Journal Articles" page of the "Geol 140 Environmental Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geol 140 Environmental Geology   Tags: course_guide, environmental geology  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/geology140 Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hints

To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol. Click here to view this short tutorial from the Colorado State University Libraries.

~~~

Take the CRAPP test. Use it to help you evaluate your resources.

First-- Pick a Subject Category

Begin with the "Database & Article Searching" link from the Library homepage and select a broad category to help you narrow your choices to relevant databases.  Possibilites include:

Or, if you know the database you want to search go to A-Z title listing of databases.

      

    Then--Pick the Database

    Here is a very small subset of the databases available to you. Based on your assigned topics, here are some suggestions:

    • GeoRef (Geology)
      THE geology database
    • Engineering Village 2
      Engineering Village 2 is the home of Compendex; the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available.
      Coverage: 1969-present
    • Biological Abstracts
      This citation database provides users with easy access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline, e.g. botany, microbiology, genetics, pharmacology, fishes, mammalogy, soils, etc.
      Coverage: 1969-present
      Citation Database
    • Environment Index
      Environment Index offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
      Coverage: 1940's-present
    • PubMed (biology, health)
      Contains citations, with abstracts, to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
      Coverage: 1950-present
    • WestLaw
      Legal research database that contains case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, and legal forms. Also includes newspaper and magazine articles.
    • Academic Search Complete
      A general database that crosses all disciplines.
      Coverage: 1975-present
    • CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
      Great place to begin research--an article from CQ Researcher, although not a primary article, has a useful overview of the topic, especially for controversial ones.
    • Web of Science
      Multidisciplinary database that covers sciences (2009--) social sciences (1999--), arts and humanities (2009). Provides references and links to full text.

    Finding the actual article

    Many of the databases will only provide you with a citation. To retreive the full text of an article from within most databases, use the Find It @SacState link, which can usually be found at the end of a database record summary.

    Subject Librarian

    Deborah Metzger
    Contact Info
    Contact me to schedule an appointment
    (916) 278-7509
    University Library, Room 3027
    Send Email
     

    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip