- Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The images displayed on this site have been photographed on location by the author." (quoted from website)
- Asian Historical Architecture
"A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Here you can view over 15,000 photos of 791 sites in twenty-one countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors." (quoted from website)
- Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Philipps-Universitaet Marburg, Germany)
Index of art and architecture images
- British Library Architecture Image Collection on Flickr
A selection of architecture and building imagery from the British Library's Mechanical Curator Collection, discovered and tagged by the community. (from website)
- British Library Online Images. Buildings
"Images Online gives you instant access to thousands of the greatest images from the British Library's collections which include manuscripts, rare books, musical texts and maps spanning almost 3000 years. The range of images available include illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs." (quoted from website)
- Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame Image Collection (Univ. of Pittsburgh)
"Chartres Cathedral is among the best preserved of the major French cathedrals, with extensive programmes of sculpture and stained glass. It was a major site of pilgrimage in honour of the Virgin Mary, to whom the cathedral is dedicated. This website provides access to a comprehensive collection of images and detailed descriptions of Chartres Cathedral." (quoted from website)
- Cities and Buildings Database (University of Washington Libraries)
"The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. Begun in 1995, ... contains images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Par de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project." (quoted from website)
- Digital Archives of American & European Architecture (Boston College)
Site accesses over 2000 slides of American and European architecture
- Digital Imaging Project (Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton University)
"Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern." (from website)
Includes photographs of buildings around the world
- Google Images
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Includes the Carol M. Highsmith Archive of photographs of landmark buildings & architectural renovation projects in Washington D.C. & the U.S. Historic American Buildings & Landscape Surveys
- Medieval Art & Architecture (Alison Stones, Univ. of Pittsburgh)
"The purpose of this site is to promote education and research in Medieval art and architecture." (quoted from website)
- Digital Resources (Society of Architectural Historians.
"The following links are to net resources focused on reference information, collections, image compendia, specific architects, and texts. ... Please note that many sites change URLs or are removed from the web on a daily basis, so the following information is subject to change. For more general resources on subjects or places, see netresources2." (quoted from website)
- New York Architecture Images of Top 25 NY Buildings (New York Public Library)
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more." One of the browsing choices is "Cities and Buildings."
(quoted from website)
- Society of Architectural Historians. Architecture Resource Archive (SAHARA)
"SAHARA is a new digital image archive developed in 2008 and 2009 by the Society of Architectural Historians in collaboration with ARTstor. Funded by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, SAHARA allows SAH members either to upload their own digital photographs and QTVR panoramas to a shared online archive or to download images from the archive for teaching and research." Student Membership $65 (quoted from website)
- SPIRO: Slide & Photograph Image Retrieval Online
The online catalog and image database of the College of Environmental Design, Visual Resources Center at University of California, Berkeley - click on List of Collections link to get access to images.
- Thais.it: 40 secoli di Architettura
Database in Italian and English.
- World Images (San Jose State University)
This database provides access to the "California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes." (quoted from website)
NOTE: Tabs include "Art & Architecture" and "Cities"