This is the "Websites" page of the "Architectural History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architectural History  

A guide to Library and Web resources to begin your study and research in architectural history.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/architecturehistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Got Questions? Ask Me!

Emily Merrifield

916-278-5663
emily.merrifield@csus.edu
Library 3031

 

Some Selected Architectural History Websites

  • African Architecture and Design
    "A Hub for African Architecture, Design and Eco-friendly Development projects." (quoted from website)
  • archINFORM: International Architecture Database
    "database for international architecture, originally emerging from records of interesting building projects from architecture students, has meanwhile become the largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present.
    This database includes information over more than 27,500 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database." (quoted from website)
  • Architecture Links on the World Wide Web (Boston College)
  • Architecture Museums Worldwide (UIA/International Union of Architects)
    A listing of architecture museums around the world
  • ArchitectureWeek Great Buildings Collection
    "This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings, and hundreds of leading architects, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds." (From website)
  • Art Historians' Guide to the Movies
    Site includes section on use of modern architecture in movies
  • Artsource
    "ArtSource, a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians, etc. This site is intended to be selective, rather than comprehensive." (from website)
  • Asian Historical Architecture
    "Welcome to www.orientalarchitecture.com, a photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Here you can view over 15,000 photos of 791 sites in twenty-one countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors." (quote from website)
  • Built in America
    Part of the Library of Congress Memory Project.
    "Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey, 1933-Present" (quote from website)
  • CalEarth: California Institute of Earth Art & Architecture
    Includes information on building designs and about products and materials
  • California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. Kennedy Library
    The Library's manuscript holdings include: The "California Architectural Archives -- Original materials by and about architects, architecture, and the built environment of California, including the Julia Morgan Papers. " (quoted from website)
  • Digital Roman Forum (University of California, Los Angeles)
    "From 1997 to 2003 the UCLA Cultural Virtual Reality Laboratory (CVR Lab) created a digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity. The notional date of the model is June 21, 400 A.D. From 2002 to 2005, with generous support from the National Science Foundation, the CVRLab was able to create this Web site about the digital Forum model. " (quoted from website)
  • E-Architect
    Site includes "Architecture News, World Architects, Buildings, Photos, Architectural Developments." (quoted from website)
  • Getty Vocabulary Databases
    Site includes links to the Getty's Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT); The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN); Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) and the forthcoming Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA). CONA is expected to be made available in 2011.
  • International Archive of Women in Architecture (Virgina Tech)
    "The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA), ... is a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, storing, and making available to researchers the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, & urban planners."
  • LANIC: Architecture (University of Texas)
    Provides architecture resources in South American countries
  • Digital Resources (Society of Architectural Historians)
    "The following links are to net resources focused on reference information, collections, image compendia, specific architects, and texts. ... Please note that many sites change URLs or are removed from the web on a daily basis, so the following information is subject to change. For more general resources on subjects or places, see netresources2." (quoted from website)
  • RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online (Royal Institute of British Architects
    The RIBA online catalogue provides details of material held in its collections ... " an index to articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals, details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library|, including information on books available for loan to RIBA members. It also indexes the holdings of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Drawings and Archives Collections and a biographical database" (quoted from website)
  • Society for the Study of Architecture in Canada
    "...founded in 1974 by a broadly-based group of people interested in encouraging a greater understanding and development of the study of Canadian architecture. Included in this study is an examination of both historical and cultural issues relating to buildings, streetscapes, cities, and the countryside." (from website)

Selected Websites on Famous Architects

Some Selected Preservation Websites

Some Selected Urban Planning Websites

  • Planners Bibliographies by the American Planning Association (APA)
    The APA produce annotated bibliographies on a wide variety of topics creating a resource for planners and researchers seeking a comprehensive, interdisciplinary bibliography of pertinent literature.
    It includes annotated listings of scholarly and practical monographs, journal and magazine articles, government documents, and websites, bringing the best scholarly work to the attention of practitioners in the field and highlighting for scholars important practical applications of academic research. (quoted from website)

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip