Cochrane LibraryEBSCO DatabasesEmeraldGoogle ScholarJSTOROneSearch Library CatalogProject MusePubMedScience Direct (Elsevier)SciFinderSocial Sciences Full TextWiley InterscienceWorldCatWeb of Science
Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A]Changing Capitalization
FiltersOutput StylesTerm Lists/Journal Abbreviations
This is the "Filters" page of the "EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)   Tags: bibliographic manager, citations, how_to  

These instructions were written as a short introduction to using EndNote X3, but have been updated continuously to reflect changes to X8.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/EndNote Print Guide RSS Updates

Filters Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Filter?

Filters are files that allow you to import references saved from databases that do not have an automatic export feature.  By selecting the correct filter, EndNote will transfer the information into the appropriate field in the EndNote record.

Import is the function, filters allow you to do it.

Finding Import Filters

If the filter for your favorite database does not appear, download it from EndNote. They've got ~3000 to choose from.

 

Using Import Filters (for files that don't export automatically)

Not all databases offer the direct export option. For those that don't you can use EndNote's import filters to transfer the reference data into your EndNote library. Here's how:

  1. Save the results you wish to keep in a text file
  2. From EndNote's File menu, choose Import
  3. Select the text file that contains your saved results
  4. From the Import Options menu, select Other Filters
  5. Select the filter that corresponds to the database your results came from
  6. Click the Import button

    If what you are looking for is not on any of the lists, you can go to the EndNote Import Filter site,
    http://www.endnote.com/support/enfilters.asp to find the correct filter.

Here are some instructions for X3, old, but you should get the idea of what to do. Click here for more detailed instructionsInstalling EncNote X3 Import Filter Download Instructions.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
University Library
Room 3027
dmetzger@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-7509

Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip