Cochrane LibraryEBSCO DatabasesEmeraldGoogle ScholarJSTOROneSearch Library CatalogProject MusePubMedScience Direct (Elsevier)SciFinderSocial Sciences Full TextWiley InterscienceWorldCatWeb of Science
Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A]Changing Capitalization
FiltersOutput StylesTerm Lists/Journal Abbreviations
This is the "Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A]" page of the "EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)   Tags: bibliographic manager, citations, how_to  

These instructions were written as a short introduction to using EndNote X3, but have been updated continuously to reflect changes to X8.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/EndNote Print Guide RSS Updates

Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A] Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's the Point of This?

By modifying an established output style (i.e. MLA) you can display additional parts of the record to create an annotated bibliography.  

The easiest way to do this is to create a modified version of the MLA output style which includes the field in which you write the annotation.

Before you begin this project, you must decide which EndNote field you will use to store your annotations. For this example I used the Research Notes field.

EndNote X3 Help

For further explanation search from within EndNote for the following topics:
Adding Text After Each Reference
Adding or Removing Blank Lines Between References
Hanging Indents
Copy Formatted

      
     

    Overview of Editing an Output Style

    First, gain a better understanding of Output Styles by reading Edit an Output Style: Process Overview before continuing to the box below. It will make the process of creating an annotated bibliography easier.

    The example below uses MLA; you can adapt any format by following the same rules.

     

     

    Changing the Layout to Add an Annotation to the MLA Output Style

    Make sure that MLA is the current output format [it should be displayed in the output window].

    1. Open the Style Manager by selecting Output Styles from the Edit men, and selecting Open Style Manager.
    2. Select MLA, then click Edit.
    2.
    After the Style window opens, select Layout [it is listed under Bibliography]
    3. Click in the text box below the "End each reference with" section, and select click on the "Insert Field" button
    4. Select End of Paragraph [which will begin the annotation on a new line]
    5. Place the cursor under the ¶ symbol
    6. Select the "Insert Field" button and select Tab
    7. Type in "Research Notes" [or the name of the field that you are using to hold your annotation]
    8.  Remember to save the output style under a new name [see steps 7-10]
    9. From the File menu, select Save As....
    10. Give it a name [such as MLA Annotated]

     

    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip